HTC Magic/Rogers Donut update?Support


Last Updated:

  1. halldorr

    halldorr Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wondering if anyone using Rogers and a non-rooted phone has updated to Donut. Am curious how their update process went as I'm pretty nervous about doing it as everywhere I read says it remove contacts etc, and we need to do it manually.
     

    Advertisement
  2. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    best thing to do if your nervous about loosing your contacts is to sync with gmail, calander etc... (it shouldnt kill them but for saftey) turn off the sync for all areas do the update then re sync and all should be golden...
     
  3. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
    Is it even available to Rogers users yet? Last time I checked the Rogers web site i found only one files to DL. I assumed it was the last update file, and not 1.6, since Rogers is fairly "slow" at these things.
     
  4. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    There was an update a while ago, not sure what that is. I saw many updated it. But I doubt it was donut.
    This update is from roger's website.
     
  5. jeremy1216

    jeremy1216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    No that was not the Donut. I have downloaded it and installed on my Magic. what I can tell it's smoother than the rom before.
     
  6. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    yea, that should not be a donut. rogers is not that fast at updating.
     
  7. Miss_Almie112

    Miss_Almie112 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    20
    From what I've read and heard the donut update that is happening in the U.S is over the air so your phone will let you know of the donut upgrade whenever it decides to hit north of the border. Yes I am a Rogers Magic user and remember we probably won't see that update for abit. Rogers will allow us the update whenever they feel like it. And Rogers needs to keep up with the Android phones. LoL :D
     
  8. happyally

    happyally Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just called Rogers tech support and the guy I spoke to referred to that same file on their website Redirect to the right page but it isn't donut. I told him that in the states and in the UK it will be pushed to the phone and asked if Rogers would be doing the same. He just kept parroting that there is a file on that site and that is all that Rogers will support... so helpful :(

    If anyone on Rogers gets donut OTA please let the rest of us know!
     
  9. happyally

    happyally Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
    Just spoke to Rogers tech support, and was told the only info they have right now is that is _should_ be coming out somewhere near the end of Oct or beginning of Nov. They also said that they didn't know yet if it would be OTA or a download.

    But this is Rogers we're talking about here, so take it all with a grain of salt. ;-)
     
  11. Miss_Almie112

    Miss_Almie112 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ahhhhhh just another hopeful remark from a random Rogers Tech person who thinks they know when it actually is gonna be available for us Rogers users. But if its true then I just put a foot in my mouth. Ahhhhhh!:eek:
     
  12. happyally

    happyally Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ha-ha Rogers has the most random tech people ever!
     
  13. halldorr

    halldorr Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still haven't heard or seen anything about 1.6 from Rogers so hopefully in the next few weeks we'll hear something. I'd prefer on OTA update but will be happy with whatever :)
     
  14. Frank

    Frank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0

    Sorry to ask this simple question but I am new to this. I bought an unlocked Magic in Vancouver. It is from Rogers. I live in south China and use it with China Unicom here. It works well. I use EDGE for my data as I do not need 3G.

    How do I update the operating system to 1.6 or 2? I have seen postings that explain how to do it by connecting the phone to the computer. I am not tech savy and this is beyond me. As it is unlocked and I am not on an authorized data plan will I still get a auto wireless download? Thanks
     
  15. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    There is no official update for magic yet.
     
  16. zone_black123

    zone_black123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its terrible Rogers is being a real pain I have the magic I checked the internet and saw the update , was told to go to the htc website and download the Rom so I did Iturns out it was 1.5 which my phone already had so now I check the internet every night to see if there is any news on the update. I know I'm ranting but you think for the money we paid for these phones they would stay on top of this stuff am I right?
     
  17. bgoody

    bgoody Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    6
    Do you know if they are going to skip 1.6 and go to 2.0?

    And here's an even more vexing topic...what about the Paid Apps Market, any rumors. Is there a button somewhere we can push?
     

Share This Page

Loading...