HTC Magic SyncSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Terrythompson

    Terrythompson New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone managed to get their HTC Magic to sync with Windows XP?
    I've tried installing the HTCsync software but it does not even acknowledge my phone when i connect it. Has anyone managed to get this to work?
     

    Advertisement
  2. stiffler

    stiffler Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    I managed to get it worked.
    It recognized phone immediately, but next day when I try to sync it again I had the same problem. It recognized when I started installation again and select repair.
    And you must select on your phone in notifications that you want to sync it.
     
  3. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Is yours a vodafone UK htc magic? :)

     
  4. cookie11

    cookie11 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi i'm having the same problem .
    mines a uk vodaphone "google" magic
    rooted 1.5 if that makes any difference.
    my pc can recognise the phone & mem card & the phone knows it has the usb cable attatched but the sync doesn't recognise it in either vista or 7.
    thanks.
     
  5. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Well if you place a different ROM on it, it may work however stock Vodafone ROM's have this ability removed. Your already rooted so give some ROM's a go!

    P.S 1.5 is so last year :p There are ROM's out there with 2.1 and 2.2 ready to go for your Magic :)
     
  6. cookie11

    cookie11 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes thats what i want to do but i don't want to lose all my contacts etc & i've been searching ages to find out how to sync with my pc or even with google (i aint used googlemail etc for ages so ive no idea what my user name & password is on my phone.
    anyone any ideas.
     
  7. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    For a start go to "gmail" on a computer and go to the 'forgot password?' settings - send an email (through Gmail app) from your phone to another email address -> this way you get the google email used on the phone. Your username is the first part of the address. I.E if it is HARRY789@GOOGLEMAIL.COM -> your username would be 'HARRY789'.

    Upon reseting your password you may have to put the full email address as the log in.

    So once you have your gmail all sorted (username and password) -> go to the contact section in gmail on the computer. Your Contacts should already be backed up and synced online :)

    Ofcourse , some other people who switch ROM's regularly use apps of the market such as "MyBackup Pro".

    Now get switching them ROM's! :D
     
  8. cookie11

    cookie11 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheer's mate,
    it took me till late last night to find out that the usb data cable which i got with my phone is useless (apart from charging the phone).
    which is the best place to start find out the first steps to upgrading from 1.5.
    thanks again.
     
  9. stiffler

    stiffler Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Xda-developers for sure
    HTC Sapphire: myTouch 3G, Magic - xda-developers
     

Share This Page

Loading...