HTC Magic Wifi problemsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. wonkizzle

    wonkizzle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok guys, I hope this is an easy fix.. but lets see here.. Where to begin...

    I bought a used unlocked Vodafone HTC Magic off of ebay, and got it setup with my Local GSM just fine. I can make calls, and receive texts no problem. Since I dont want a Data plan, I plan on relying on wifi for gmail services and whatnot. My problem is this. I cant get on wifi. When I go to settings>wireless controls> Wifi at the top says "Unable to start Wi-Fi" And no matter how many times I click it, it just wont start. When I go into Wi-Fi settings, "Add Wi-Fi network" is greyed out, and I cant add one. When I press the menu button while in that menu and select "Scan" It doesnt do anything, just goes away.

    Any ideas guys? I really want to get this phone working to its full potential.
    EDIT:: I also dont have any APN settings.. I thought it was only for data plans, and the phone works just fine without them except the wifi... Could that be it?

    I dont know if it has anything to do with my location because Vodafone is overseas right? Im in USA.. But the guy shipped from NJ.. And said it was working fine for him...
     

    Advertisement
  2. wonkizzle

    wonkizzle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bump, anyone? Im so frustrated that my Wifi wont turn on. Do I need to set up apn settings? Factory reset didn't change anything, I even updated to latest cyanogen mod.... Help help help!
     
  3. wonkizzle

    wonkizzle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    One last bump before I give up...
     
  4. draymon

    draymon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe u need a data plan??
     
  5. wonkizzle

    wonkizzle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    A data plan just to use Wifi? I thought I could use wifi without needing a data plan... Can someone verify this please?
     
  6. Knutfreddy

    Knutfreddy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wi-Fi does not need a data plan or any APN settings. Have you tried running it in safe mode to see what happens then?
     
  7. wonkizzle

    wonkizzle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did, had the same problem. I just returned it and called it defective. I tried everything. Thanks for the help guys.
     
  8. ZEUS

    ZEUS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you make Wifi on the HTC Magic work, other than making sure it connects to a network?
     
  9. coololdrocker

    coololdrocker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can take your sim card out and still use wifi so no you don't need a data plan.
     
  10. Maxxy

    Maxxy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have this issue with not being able to start wifi on my Magic from time to time. In my case it takes a reboot to get it fixed. I'm assuming you've tried to reboot yours, right? I guess the next step would be to try a factory reset.
     

Share This Page

Loading...