HTC Mail Client - No Hotlink for GMAILSupport


Last Updated:

  1. chall80

    chall80 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    49
    Ok so my wife and I are having the same problem. We both have gmail running on the stock HTC Mail client. Any email that comes through that has a hotlink on it, does not display it as a hotlink...i.e. I can't click it to navigate to the webpage. On my desktop, i open gmail, and it shows the hotlink. In the same mail client, i have my work email...all web addresses in an email from my work account show as a hotlink. What gives??
     

    Advertisement
  2. charlyee

    charlyee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    40
    That's interesting, I sent the link to this post to my gmail from my PC and it showed up as a hot link.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. chall80

    chall80 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    49

    thats interesting, it looks like you're using the Gmail app, not the stock HTC Mail client...i don't have problems with the gmail app, gmail on my pc(run through Mozilla Thunderbird), Gmail on my browser on my phone, or even my Corporate email on the stock HTC Mail client. only gmail through the mail client
     
  4. charlyee

    charlyee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    40
    Maybe that's the difference. I was using the EMail client on my Atrix but I ran into something that it couldn't, don't exactly remember what it.was. That's when I switched to the GMail App.
     
  5. chall80

    chall80 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    49
    i really like it, but for some reason its now messed up...i don't know if its ICS update or what...
     
  6. woodsytattooman

    woodsytattooman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    113
    I tried it with my HTC mail and it won't work for me either.Two links in the screenshot but you can't click on them.You are able to highlight the link and search for it but that is a pain.Links work fine using my Gmail app.
    I am on the hunt for a solution!

    [​IMG]
     
  7. typerk

    typerk Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    My stock email has always done that and it shows up as plain text even if there are pictures in the email. I simply use the gmail app so the stock client's limitations never bothered me.
     
  8. chall80

    chall80 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    49
    It used to actually work...
     
  9. woodsytattooman

    woodsytattooman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    113
    Still does.
    I sent myself two different links and they work just fine.The first one i sent from my laptop and the second one from my vivid.
    When doing it from the laptop i inserted the link with the link/globe button insert link option.When sending it from the vivid i went to a webpage and hit menu/share page and selected htc gmail.Both worked fine:eek:
    I tried sending you 2 links but noticed they do not work in my sent folder,although they do work when i send them to my inbox?
    Im waiting to receive an email with a link to see if it works from someone else.I did change one setting in my htc mail.Menu/settings/send and receive/mail size limit.I changed it to max.Im not sure if that made a difference but my links are working when i send them to myself.


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    I also tested one from my yahoo mailbox and it also works.

    [​IMG]




    [​IMG]
     
    chall80 likes this.
  10. woodsytattooman

    woodsytattooman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    113
    Ok emails are now showing full headers and links are working in htc mail for me.Hope this works for you:)
    ""HTC Mail/Menu/settings/send and receive/mail size limit.I changed it to max.""
     
  11. charlyee

    charlyee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    40
    Is there any advantage in setting up GMail through E-Mail? My understanding was GMail needed to be set up either through GMail or Exchange to get instant push.

    Any thoughts?

    PS: Slightly off topic, sorry :)
     
  12. woodsytattooman

    woodsytattooman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    113
    There is no advantage that i know of.Gmail app does instant push where as HTC mail does not af far as i understand.It has to sync at the times you set it to sync at.Every 15 mins every hour etc.I don't care for that option due to battery use of syncing all the time.
    I use the Gmail app,Not HTC mail.
    I was just testing the HTC mail to get the links working.
     
    chall80 and charlyee like this.
  13. chall80

    chall80 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    49
    i use client because i can consolidate my personal and corporate email accounts. That and I'm not fond of the Gmail app
     
    charlyee likes this.
  14. chall80

    chall80 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    49
    Im still testing this out, but I'm pretty sure that WTM(woodsytattooman's rap name) fixed this up for me...you da man!
     
    woodsytattooman likes this.
  15. woodsytattooman

    woodsytattooman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    113
    LOL!
    Glad its working so far :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...