htc messaging widget error when attempting removal


Last Updated:

  1. kristi-lynn

    kristi-lynn Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hopefully someone can help!

    I just set the HTC messaging widget (just the standard guy) to one of my home screens and decided it was not worth having but when I try to remove it (just holding down on it) I get this error message...

    Sorry!
    The application HTC Sense (process com.htc.launcher) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.

    Force Close


    I have no idea how to get rid of this stupid widget if not long holding on it, but I just keep getting this error and then all the home screens have to reload.

    Any suggestions? :confused:

    Thanks,
    k-l
     

    Advertisement
  2. kristi-lynn

    kristi-lynn Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    ouch, that sucks. will i lose everything? or will apps and things be backed up on the sd? sorry if that's a noob question...

    hope they fix that... sucks that i have to reset it just for putting a widget that came with the phone on the home screen...
     
  3. Elpelco

    Elpelco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe try changing to a different scene first?
     
  4. kristi-lynn

    kristi-lynn Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    but if i want to use my (current) custom scene it'll still have this widget eh? i mean, i could just make a new scene but it's kind of skirting the problem...
     
  5. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Just checking you've tried turning your phone off and on again?
     
  6. kristi-lynn

    kristi-lynn Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    yea, no good. dang... does anyone know about the potential data loss?
     
  7. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    If you do a hard reset you will lose all your data and apps. You can back these up before you do it though..
     
  8. kristi-lynn

    kristi-lynn Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    can i back apps up to the sd? if so, how? if not, alternatives? (obviously i can plug into my computer, but what would i even be looking for?)
     
  9. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    I'd recommend MyBackup app to back everything up. The app backs up everything onto your SD card, and you can re run it after the reset and load everything back on your device.

    (Use teh app barcode scanner to scan this, will take you to the app)
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,480
    Careful now.... that could suggest that everytime an app crashes the user has to factory-reset their handset. :eek:

    @kristi-lynn:
    First step is to try a simple restart.

    If that doesn't work (as it hasn't in this case) next switch off and remove the battery for say an hour. Then replace it and switch back on - sometimes that's enough to clear things up.

    If the problem persists, go to Menu-Settings-Applications-Manage applications, select Messages widget and click on Clear data.

    If still no joy, try doing the same to HTC Sense. This may reset your home screens but at least won't result in data loss.

    The final, if-all-else-fails resort, is the factory reset. This will wipe your internal memory and return the handset to the out-of-the-box condition, so ensure you've backed up contacts etc before doing it. Data on your memory card will be unaffected.
     
  11. kristi-lynn

    kristi-lynn Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is more what I was hoping existed. Just a way to kill the widget without the standard remove. I'm gonna try these out now.

    Unfortunately, the first one, there apparently ISN'T any data in that application, and therefore the "clear data" boxes are grayed out, including the "force stop".

    Onto the next option... YAY! Put me back to standard home screens, but that I can fix. At least the messaging widget is gone! Thanks for the spot on advice. I was hoping there was a... less intrusive... way of doing that. Wish I could have cleared the data for the messaging widget, but I guess that was part of the problem too. Phew!

    Thanks everyone! Now to put my home screens back in order...
     
  12. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,480
    Glad it worked out for you. Fingers crossed that it cures the problem permanently....
     
  13. kristi-lynn

    kristi-lynn Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well I don't think I'll be putting that messaging widget anywhere near my home screen in the near future so we may never know...
     

Share This Page

Loading...