HTC Passion In Canada?


Last Updated:

  1. Luke99

    Luke99 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone know if the passion is coming to canada?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Phydeaux

    Phydeaux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    67
    Depends on the carrier in your area I guess. I don't see any reason it wouldn't be available to Verizon users in Canuckistan.
     
  3. Luke99

    Luke99 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    well verizon isnt in canada...we have telus, rogers, fido, and bell
     
  4. Phydeaux

    Phydeaux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    67
    No idea then. If your provider runs a compatible channel access method (CDMA) it may be possible to run an unlocked Passion on your network.
     
  5. Luke99

    Luke99 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i find out if my providers have a CDMA?
     
  6. Mykpfsu

    Mykpfsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    149
    I'm sure HTC will be all aboot the Canada. I'm sure some time as late as April a few teams of dog sleds will bring the boxes to your local dealer.
     
  7. junkie

    junkie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    your only option to use the phone if a canadian provider doesn't pick it up is to get one from at&t unlocked and use it on Rogers, unless it has compatible bands for Telus and bells HSPA network. telus and bell will not activate a non carier CDMA handset.
     
  8. Karuk

    Karuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    100
    No Passion for you!
     
  9. 2kfire

    2kfire Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Telus and Bell use the same network (HSPA+/CDMA 1x/EV-DO @ 850/1900). Their network is the same as Verizon's. IF neither Bell nor Telus get the Passion, HOPEFULLY we'll be able to get an unlocked one and use it with either provider! IF this phone is real ;)

    Corrections: mixed up terms; had UMTS instead of HSPA+, and CDMA2000 instead of 1x/EV-DO
     
  10. junkie

    junkie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I said earlier, Telus nor Bell will not activate a CDMA only handset that isn't in their inventory, so unless Verizon has a HSPA netwok that I am unaware of and can opperate on UMTS and HSPA then Canadians will be out of luck using a Verizon handset.
     
  11. johflo88

    johflo88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    @phydeaux: very cheeky!
     
  12. johflo88

    johflo88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    mykpfsu: another comedian!
     
  13. johflo88

    johflo88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    @karuk: is that a pun?
     
  14. 2kfire

    2kfire Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, I didn't know they only allowed activating HSPA-compatible phones :(
    Thanks for the info, as sad as it makes me! :(

    Edit: Actually, now that I think about it, would they release this phone as CDMA-only?!? The Touch Pro2 and Imagio are rev. A, GSM, AND UMTS. Although, those are both WinMo phones, while the 2 Android phones (Moto Droid and Droid ERIS) are CDMA-only...
     

Share This Page

Loading...