HTC Sense 2.2 On The G2!!General


Last Updated:

  1. Arcadia

    Arcadia Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    15

    Advertisement
  2. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    Has this rom been ported to any other androids? Just curious...
     
  3. boloj

    boloj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    No it just a Stock HTC Desire Z rom its works on the G2 because they share the same hardware
     
  4. jodznsez

    jodznsez Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    can i add this once I've rooted the G2??
     
  5. popartist

    popartist Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    I noticed an icon for FM Radio as he was scrolling through the app drawer - does it actually work on the G2 with this ROM?
     
  6. boloj

    boloj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    It depends witch Sense rom you install if you install the Stock HTC Desire Z rom then the fm radio works, but no wifi calling.
     
  7. LCW

    LCW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hmmmm.... if it's that easy to install Sense 2.2 on a G2... I might consider picking one up... although the hinge still has me doubting the long term durability of it... but I like most aspects of the Sense UI... HTC did a good job there for the most part... assuming it's not too laggy vs stock 2.2....
     
  8. Zardos

    Zardos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    15
    I'm about to pick up a G2 tomorrow and this better stay VERY FAR AWAY from my phone. Sense ruins everything it touches.
     
  9. kwilkins

    kwilkins Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0

    I'm trying to decide between the G2 and the upcoming HTC Merge, which has Sense. I thought Sense was considered to be provide the best user experience for Android. Can you tell me what it ruins and why you would not use it?

    Thanks.
     
  10. fryrice

    fryrice Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have sense UI on my g2 and all this can be found on xda

    G2 Android Development - xda-developers

    Works:
    -Fast boot
    -FM radio
    -htcsense.com
    -visual voicemail
    -wifi tether
    -mms

    Do not work:
    -no www/.com button
    -wifi calling (there is a mod version of this for it to work)

    still playing with it so haven't found everything about it.
     
  11. Agent K

    Agent K Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there an FM tuner in the phone?
     
  12. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    You know.. That is disappointing People cry and cry over not having stock androids and then when one comes here you guys put HTC Sense UI on it. PShh shame on you all.
     
  13. justme8800

    justme8800 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yeah, because we're all a single hypocritical hivemind. Is it really so hard to believe that some people like different UIs?
     
  14. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84

    Hey, I was just saying. :cool:
     
  15. adrienspawn

    adrienspawn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried out HTC Sense on my G2 before switching to Cyanogen.

    No, it uses a trick with the Bluetooth radio and a headset plugged in as an antenna. Pretty nifty.
     
  16. justme8800

    justme8800 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    19
    Eh? Where did you read that?

    That'd have to be a heck of a trick, given that Bluetooth runs at 2.4 gigahertz and FM radio is measured in megahertz. I was under the impression that the G2, like any other phone, had a dedicated FM tuner, but due to the longer wavelengths in question in needs to use the headphones as an antenna.

    Please, elaborate on this "trick," now I'm curious...
     
  17. adrienspawn

    adrienspawn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    When I start the FM app, it says "enabling Bluetooth". And then the app doesn't work, so it says "Plug in a headset to be used as an antenna".

    Once I do that it works, listening to 97.7 right now just to make sure.

    Edit: The Desire Z has FM and the G2 doesn't by default, but maybe it was unlocked or something?

    http://forums.t-mobile.com/t5/T-Mobile-G2/FM-Radio/td-p/467562
     

Share This Page

Loading...