HTC Sense Facebook "service is currently unavailable"Support


Last Updated:

  1. rukna

    rukna New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am pretty big on privacy and have my FB privacy settings customized to my likes. When I first activated the Evo, I was able to connect using HTC Sense into my FB account. I reset the phone back to "Factory Settings" this morning, and since then, I'm unable to connect and am getting the same warning message:

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. The service is currently unavailable. Do you want to try again?
    3.  
    Went to facebook and the permission to "HTC Sense" is allowed. What am I missing?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ImmaSlave4U

    ImmaSlave4U Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    43
    Download the official Facebook for Android app in the Market.
     
  3. rukna

    rukna New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already had the FB app on my Evo by default and am already able to connect to FB through it. I want the "HTC Sense FB" working so I could sync my Contacts and link/unlink them with my existing contacts.

    I still followed your advice and went ahead to the Market and installed the one that simply said it'd replace my current FB client. I could still connect using that client, and not with FB for HTC Sense.
     
  4. jrstinkfish

    jrstinkfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    41
    I am getting the same error. I noticed that my FB contacts weren't syncing, and I signed out of Sense FB and tried to sign back in and got that error.
     
  5. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Same issue here
     
  6. egluck

    egluck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah same problem here with my Droid Incredible. Able to sync with a dummy facebook account but not my real one; also tried syncing using family member's Droid Eris but same problem. So frustrating. Has anybody tried contacting HTC or Facebook about this? Just to see if toggling it off and on would help I turned off the htc for sense application in Facebook and now ca'nt figure out how to turn it back on. :(
     
  7. damink23

    damink23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
    I cant get my facebook contacts to sync on the device. I have a feeling there is an issue, and a toggle off and on wont fix it. Maybe facebook changed an API HTC Sense uses.
     
  8. jrstinkfish

    jrstinkfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    41
    I checked to make sure it was allowed under Applications in FB, and yep, still set to allow. Bleh. I hadn't really noticed, but it looks like it stopped working around July 4th. The only other thing I can think of is that I changed my password close to then, but forgot to change it in Sense, so maybe it's been locked out.
     
  9. sailrace

    sailrace Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    This appears to be pretty widespread problem. I don't think it is anything that any one person has done.

    Lot's of people on XDA are seeing the same thing. Something is screwed up with the Sense to Facebook interface, because all other connections to FB work.
     
  10. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    The only thing I have noticed is that Facebook for Android has been updated. Only change there is an icon for inbox instead of take photo. Installed the update but that didn't fix anything. I actually liked having those contacts linked :(
     
  11. jrstinkfish

    jrstinkfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    41
    Poking around HTC forums, it appears that HTC is aware of the issue. Hopefully a fix is forthcoming.
     
  12. damink23

    damink23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    7
    Would you be able to provide a link to this?
     
  13. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    damink23 likes this.
  14. tardmobile

    tardmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    47
    fwiw I've been seeing issues getting meebo to log into Facebook chat for the last week or two - giving "invalid response from server"
     
  15. Karzzy

    Karzzy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's happening here in SG too!!! Damn it!
     
  16. tardmobile

    tardmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    47
    This would also seem to make sense of why for the last few days my battery life has gone to complete shit due to something keeping my 3g in a CONSTANT up/down stream, and after killing off any facebook sync options it all went away.
     
  17. hamzax7x

    hamzax7x Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    EVERYONE: A person in htc forums talked to HTC and they said its a facebook server issue with their sense application, they are working on it! Not our faults, no restore will fix this, this is a server issue which everyone is experiencing lately
     
  18. SporkLover

    SporkLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    98
    Glad I googled before doing a Factory reset.

    I just did some Evo ESN swapping this morning and noticed it wasn't working!
     
  19. mico4ever

    mico4ever Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    same problem here with my DESIRE.....
     
  20. Hardcorp

    Hardcorp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    9
    Add my name to the list! EVO
     
  21. otijhuis

    otijhuis Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all,

    I read on another forum about a possible workaround for the htc sense facebook issue. Update your facebook profile. Enter the place where you work in the "Education and work" area. It fixed the problem for me and several others (couldn't sync for days, after the profile update it synced instantly). Makes no sense (no pun intented) but it works.

    Btw, am using an HTC Desire with custom rom.
     
  22. heartofrome

    heartofrome New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    that ****ing worked lolz
     
  23. TheChad

    TheChad New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    otijhuis,, that worked great for me. Thank you!

    I am using a HTC Aria with custom ROM on AT&T
     
  24. dayman23

    dayman23 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Work for me too.
     
  25. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Deleted everything in my Work and Education...Turned phone off then on...then it did sync. Just adding something to Work and Education did not work.

    YAY fer fixes.

    using htc synse...not rooted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...