HTC Sense Widgets gone after OTA?!!General


Last Updated:

  1. jtgarc

    jtgarc New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I just got my OTA update, and now there is only one Sense Widget available on my phone. There are a handful more available via the market, but none of the ones that I had previously used. Has anyone else seen this happen?

    It's more than a little frustrating as my customized home screen was pretty heavy on the HTC widgets.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Brainfart

    Brainfart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    Are they in the widget list on your phone?
     
  3. bjf88

    bjf88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    37
    Have you tried a reboot? Maybe a battery pull? If all else fails, I would do a factory reset.
     
  4. jtgarc

    jtgarc New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brainfart: No, they're just gone. Only the settings widget is in the list, and it won't actually place onto the home screen(s).

    So I take it that no one else has had this problem?
     
  5. jtgarc

    jtgarc New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    After pulling the battery, they came back.

    Thanks.
     
  6. TheMortallyWounded

    TheMortallyWounded Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    51
    Going to pull the battery on mine now. HTC Weather app doesn't work. I've got all my widgets though.

    Never thought I'd hear myself say that...
     
  7. Tarheel_Rambler

    Tarheel_Rambler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    12
    Can someone tell me what the complete list of HTC Widgets should be? I'm thinking I only have a partial list.
     
  8. numb3rtw3nty

    numb3rtw3nty New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problem. The HTC widgets except for a few (Bookmarks, settings, stocks, twitter) are all gone. Upon further inspection, there are 'Clock' and 'Desk Clock' apps in my app list, which both bring up what seems like the menu for the clock widget. Also, Clock, widget, calendar widget, and weather widget appear in the settings->applications list, but they all read 0.00B.

    Battery pull didn't help. Any suggestions?
     
  9. Tarheel_Rambler

    Tarheel_Rambler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    12
    The only thing I could figure out was to do a factory reset. (It was one of the options when you hit "Recovery" when you installed 2.1) You don't lose anything off of your SD card, such as pictures and stuff, but you'll have to re-register the phone, re-enter all your passwords for Google, Facebook, etc., and reset your home screens the way you want them.

    The good news is that once your done everything is the way it's supposed to be. Of course it doesn't fix the little bugs that other people are reporting, but you know what I mean. :D
     
  10. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    I had this happen to me a while back after doing a data restore from Mybackup. And apparently this happened to other members here also.

    Did you also so some kind of backup restore?
     
  11. blacknite

    blacknite Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    my wife's phone got the OTA, and her htc widgets are almost all gone also. does the recovery work?

    EDIT- yes, it did work to restore the widgets and everything else.
     
  12. DFA1

    DFA1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    Did Factory Reset, worked.
     
  13. numb3rtw3nty

    numb3rtw3nty New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never did any type of backup/restore, but I'll give the factory reset a shot *crosses fingers*
     
  14. omgitshammertime

    omgitshammertime New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem. I took out the battery of my Eris and it did not give me back all the HTC Widgets I had.I've considered a factory reset. What will a facotry reset do? I'm worried that I will lose all of my messages and contacts.
    Please help
     
  15. iamtooproud

    iamtooproud Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    A factory reset will restore the phone to the original settings, just as if the phone were coming out of the box for the first time (with the 2.1). You will lose everything. All of your messages, widgets, settings, custom screens, etc unless they are backed up on a memory card.
     
  16. jaybeewaybee

    jaybeewaybee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    23
    Battery pull took care of it.
     
  17. oxjuris

    oxjuris New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Menu>Settings>Personalize>Scenes
    Save your custom scene if not currently saved
    Apply default 'htc' scene
    All widgets should now be available
    Now reapply your custom scene
    All widgets should now be available (but will have to be added to your custom scene again)

    Worked for me. I'm doing it on a Hero.
     
  18. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Welcome to the forum Oxjuris.
    I can see you're searching, which is good. But keep an eye on the date of the posts also;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...