HTC Signal Strength Meter is Defective Again Incredible VS Storm2General


Last Updated:

  1. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119
    What more can be said The Incredible meter is totally defective. This is what I got today. Also by popular demand direct Db readouts on both phones. Here is the proof the HTC battery bar meter is 110% DEFECTIVE!
     

    Advertisement
  2. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119
    bumping up.
     
  3. nav525

    nav525 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Dude this topic has been beaten to death already. There's no need for another thread on it.
     
  4. theineffablebob

    theineffablebob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    51
    We know.
     
  5. veloslave

    veloslave Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    10
    Dude... your rude and counter-productive reply is far more over used and just plaid OLD around here than the subject of the battery on our Droid. Ever consider politely shutting up and moving on instead of replying? Maybe let those that still want to discuss it... discuss it?


    Back to why we clicked here... :/

    Thanks for some direct comparison, some of us appreciate the effort... just wondering though if you have compared, or if you can the actual radio readings... ?
     
  6. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119
    Look at the pictures, they are direct readings for both handsets. Both handsets show identical direct Db readings of -94 db while the Droid Inc shows absolutely no signal bars at all and only one in the second pic. I have to tell you I'm quite perturbed by this.
     
  7. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    119
    Easy fix through software update. No worries. You have the same signal regardless of what the signal bar reads.
     
  8. bowerman

    bowerman Guest

    Peoplr were having trouble when they held the Incredible witht their hand resting on the back of the phone. Apparently people said it dropped! Can you try that? And by the way, thanks for the comparison!
     
  9. Bundy

    Bundy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    44
    I just don't get it. I mean how often, on any other phone, did you actually pay any attention to how many bars you had?

    I was the one in the other thread that requested your actual dB readings, so thanks for posting those. But why are you so bothered by what the little bars have to say? Aren't you happy to know that the reception, which is what really matters, is fine? I've never had reception problems with the phone - in fact just the opposite: I have great reception. If HTC had to get something wrong, I'm glad it was the meter and not the phone's radio - would you rather have it the other way?
     
  10. nav525

    nav525 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Dude..I'm not trying to be rude. Sorry if you took it that way. I'm just saying that it's not productive to start a new thread on an issue that has been confirmed already in other threads. I do appreciate the effort, but it would be nice if all of the information was consolidated into a few threads instead of 20 don't you think? So instead of being able to find threads on a variety of topics, I get 20 threads on the battery and another 20 on the signal issue.
     
    jayefef, fade79 and Outatime like this.
  11. BzB

    BzB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    106
    if they have the same signal strength they should have similar network performance.

    even with screwed up signal meters and "bad battery life" the phone still lives up to its namesake. i would never go back to a storm2 from an incredible.
     
  12. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119
    And why is it that your bothered that I'm bothered??
     
    GrandMasterB likes this.
  13. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    do you drop calls? nope so who cares! you are as bad here as CB, you create 2 EXACT same threads within hours
     
    silliybilly likes this.
  14. egg_head

    egg_head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    104
    For those of us that don't hang out of AndroidForums all day, it's nice opening a thread on the first page that shows signal comparison like this..

    :thumbup: to the OP.

    :thumbdown: to all the haters.
     
  15. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119
    I sure do drop calls. I also have in call audio cut outs all the time.
     
  16. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    then return the phone! i know you like doing that already. If you are actually dropping calls compared to your S2 then you actually have an issue.

    just for the record my storm 2 always shows 80 dB and my incredible shows 70-75 most times. Neither have problems with dropping calls anywhere though
     
  17. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Let's see the incredible has been out less than a month so take the dam thing back. If yours is not performing as well as the storm on voice something is wrong with it period. I carry both, they see both active, I'm not talking out of my ass. And your first pic looks like either its a storm one OR your phone actually lost all contact with Verizon and is roaming on a partner that does not offer data by the 1x.
     
  18. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119

    I don't think its the handset dropping the calls if I'm in a good service area I'm fine. Its Verizons signal in my area It has a lot of signal pulsation. On my storm if you watch the bars it will go from 2 bars to 4 then to one then to three and so on. The signal here is very unstable.
     
  19. maverick96

    maverick96 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    19
    I have also been noticing some audio cut out and so on.. I have not yet experienced a dropped call though...
     
  20. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119

    Is the Incredible capable of showing a 1X signal like the Storm? I have never seen the display say 1X. It either shows 3G or nothing. Is there a 1X icon on the Inc? It shows a 1X in the user guide but I dont see it on the phones face. I see the 3G even when its not illuminated but I don't see where the 1X would be.
     
  21. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    yes it shows 1x just the same as the storm
     
  22. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119
    Have you seen it on your Inc? I have never seen it on my Inc. If I don't have 3G I have nothing showing like in my picture above. The Storm is showing 1X but the Inc is blank.
     
  23. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Yes it does. I was travelling earlier this week and ended up in a poor service area and it does in fact switch to and show 1X
     
  24. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119
    Hmmmmmm...
     
  25. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    yep i see it at work alot cause in the bomb shelter conditions it doesnt get a good data signal, oddly enough the voice network is fine
     

Share This Page

Loading...