HTC Sync and McAfeeGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Guys:

    Saw some discussion on this on the Hero forum here, and one mention on the HTC forum, but no conclusive answers.

    I cannot get HTC Sync to work on my computer. I am running XP SP3. I have downloaded the latest version of HTC Sync. I disable my anti-virus and firewall and install, and it reports it installs correctly, but that it will not run and it will not recognize the phone.

    I read that it's a "known issue" with McAfee, but don't see a workaround or any detailed threads.

    Anyone running McAfee and get it to work?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Freaking HTC Tech Support = useless. Kept me on the phone for an hour, had me uninstall and re-install the whole thing and in the end their answer (well, after, "why do you want to use HTC Sync") was, "well, it looks like it's not going to work on your computer".

    What kind of sad-sack, sorry-a** answer is THAT?!?!?
     
  3. Solitary

    Solitary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think the easiest fix\workaround would be to get rid of a popular virus aka McAfee...
    I think only Norton got it beat in uselessness and slowing-down-ness of your machine
     
  4. bottlecap

    bottlecap Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    AVG is a great free anti-virus. :D
     
  5. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Well considering I have paid for a subscription, any other suggestions?
     
  6. Solitary

    Solitary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, the question is then did you install the drivers manually?
    The problem with XP is that its 8 years old, and should not even be supported anymore. Its time to move to a newer Windows version.

    I would recommend to find the drivers and install them manually. Millions of people are still on XP, so that shouldnt be hard to find.

    If the drivers wont help, let us know.
     
  7. pavirotten

    pavirotten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have McAfee and have not had a single issue with HTC Sync. I guess, I can just chalk it up to blind (and good) luck.
     
  8. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41

    I did not install the drivers manually. I ran the executable and it installed the program and the drivers together. I do not know where to find the drivers separately. I will do a search.

    Edit: drivers didn't work. I should mention that HTC sync, although it says "installation completed successfully", won't even start and instead gives me a warning triangle in a dialog box.
     
  9. Solitary

    Solitary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    does it see your phone?Windows i mean
     
  10. Solitary

    Solitary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. Solitary

    Solitary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry, i didnt notice you said HTC Sync wont even start.
    Does it give you any kind of warning, error, or something like that?
     
  12. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    A dialog box with nothing in it other than a warning triangle.
     
  13. Solitary

    Solitary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Revo Uninstaller - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com

    Id suggest removing the HTC Sync with Revo ( full uninstall with all of the folders and registry). Then try installing it again after you turn McAfee off (not pause protection).
    If it wont work, i am not sure what to suggest. I dont know how important this is to you and to what extent you want to fix this, id use Revo and get rid of McAfee ( again, full removal), install sync and then put mcafee back.
     

Share This Page

Loading...