HTC Sync corrupting Email Addresses in Outlook 2010?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Km76

    Km76 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I have a HTC Desire (updated to Froyo) and have been syncing my contacts with my Outlook 2010 (running Windows 7 Enterprise - 32 bit). Everything seems to synchronize well but somehow the "email address - Display As" fields gets updated in outlook, which then doesnt allow me to send emails to those email addresses unless I manually go and update the display as field inside my outlook contacts.
    I have manually updated all the contacts once already hoping that it may not be due to HTC Sync but when I did the sync then immediately all my Outlook email ids got updated.
    Now everytime I try and send an email I immediately get Undeliverable receipt from System Administrator stating the following:
    Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.
    Subject: test Sent: 14-Sep-2010 17:41
    The following recipient(s) cannot be reached: abc@xyz.com on 14-Sep-2010 17:41
    None of your e-mail accounts could send to this recipient.

    Please help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Km76

    Km76 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Folks... Would really appreciate some help here...
     
  3. ItsMikeE

    ItsMikeE Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same problem for me (HTC Desire Froyo and Outlook 2007)
     
  4. htcdesirepaul@gmail.com

    htcdesirepaul@gmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here too. Also HTC Desire Froyo and Outlook 2007).
    Same solution, (blank the 'display as' field, which subsequently defaults to Outlook's preferred display method automatically).

    Additionally in the notes field of corrupted Outlook contacts, HTC Sync has added the following text:
    <HTCData><Favorite>actionid:ViewContactCard</Favorite></HTCData>

    1) Are there better sync clients between outlook and Froyo?
    2) I'm irritated anyway that HTC Sync does not sync taks and notes. Any solution that does all of this, and does it without corruption?
     
  5. ItsMikeE

    ItsMikeE Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    The HTCData text in the notes field is not for corrupted contacts (for me), but those listed as favourites, or with other links like Facebook.
    Still having issues with people I can't email. Blanking the 'display as' field did not help.
    Also any company without a contact person seems to be displaying differently
     
  6. ItsMikeE

    ItsMikeE Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Outlook no longer likes having non-standard values in "Display As".
    My email was failing to send to a group of people that I often send to in bulk.
    Once I returned all their "Display As" fields to the Outlook default, it started working again.
     
  7. juxx

    juxx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6
    same problem guys. (Hero with 2.1, OL 2010, Win 7-32)

    I made a OL macro which reset all "email display as" fields, and I do it after any sync, but is not a solution!!
     
  8. Km76

    Km76 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Juxx,
    Can you please share the Macro which updates Outlook display as.. I know its a work around but atleast it beats updating it manually..

    Thx in advance
     
  9. juxx

    juxx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi Km76,
    here you are.

    here you can find how to enable macros and developer tab:Getting Started with VBA in Outlook 2010


    And here you are my macro. I was started from an MS procedure: OL2002: How to Change the File As Field for All Contacts

    HTH
    juxx

    EDIT: make a backup before run! ;)
     
  10. Draqula

    Draqula New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello.

    I have the same problem, using Win 7 Pro (64bit), Outlook 2010 (32bit) and HTC Sync 3.0.5422 (should be the latest one).

    All it takes for some contacts to get corrupted is to make a phone call.

    EDIT: Thank you juxx, your script will save me about half an hour per day!
     
  11. marshallrh

    marshallrh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    HTC Sync changes SMTP to SMPT

    I'm getting the same sorts of problems, although Notes are ok. For the random recipient addresses that mysteriously failed after sync, I discovered that the "Email Type" in Outlook Properties was set to "SMPT" instead of "SMTP" , causing an immediate transport failure. I reset them and they worked again. I noticed also that the File As and Display As fields got changed as described in the other posts.

    I've noted the earlier post about Favourites being a factor (htcdesirePaul). This may explain why only certain contacts get corrupted. Will check.
     
  12. juxx

    juxx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi marshallrh,
    I will check for this on my contacts too.

    I modified a little my procedure, rewriting mail addresses, and now I've no more problems... I think that rewriting mail address outlook reset MailAddressType field.

    After this I made HTCSync many times but I've got no more errors...

    HTH
     
    Daniel64 and cowboyzx6 like this.
  13. gasguru

    gasguru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had non-stop problems with HTC sync. I have reinstalled and uninstalled the program at least 10 times and talked to HTC's tech support for hours. Their most recent solution was to install the European version of HTC sync 3.0. It works fairly well except now it is corrupting my ability to send emails from my computer to email addresses that worked previously. Why can't these guys get it right? It is frustrating to have a cutting edge phone that can't even do the basics like sync to your computer, sync tasks and notes, etc. I wish I had my blackberry back! This HTC EVO phone is a pain in the neck. Does anyone have a solution on how to fix their problem between HTC Sync 3.0 and Outlook 2007 running on Windows 7 64 bit? Thanks for your help.
     
  14. cowboyzx6

    cowboyzx6 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    look at post #12...works like a champ...yeah, I know we shouldn't have to do this, but it works...
     
  15. Draqula

    Draqula New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I feel exactly the same...
     
  16. Km76

    Km76 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Juxx.. Your Macro is a lifesaver... I really do hope the guys at HTC get their act together...


     
  17. GreenShoot

    GreenShoot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a similar problem - HTC Desire - Windows XP Pro SP3 - Outlook 2007.
    It doesn't effect all my contacts - The "display as" is not blank but, if I manually re-enter what's already there, it works - I have 1,476 contacts - this is not a viable way to proceed.

    I'm not very tech-savvy - juxx - would that same macro work for Windows XP Pro SP3 32bit and Outlook 2007? Also, how do I implement that macro, juxx - what do I do? :confused:.

    If it's a really long answer, is there any chance you could email me something to john @ green-shoot .com? (I don't know if this forum allows Email addresses).

    With a company as large as HTC, you'd think they might check this sort of thing ...
     
  18. GreenShoot

    GreenShoot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried manually typing in the same info that was already there in the "Display As" fields and it worked on some contacts but not on others. So that's not the whole story.
    Anyone know what it is about the "display as" fields that's the problem? ... and how to solve it?
     
  19. GreenShoot

    GreenShoot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. GreenShoot

    GreenShoot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess I'm on my own these days out here :( noone else is posting any more.
    If you're reading this thread for the first time, I think the previous posting may be of use.
     
  21. Ambious

    Ambious New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just HAD to register to thank you guys for this! You guys rock! Thank you!
    I had an issue with all my google-related contacts, and until reading this I didn't associate it with HTC Sync/Android!
    Thanks for the Macros as well! They worked like a charm :)
    You guys are awesome!
     
  22. Bunkermentality

    Bunkermentality Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been bashing my head against this one, and HTC, for some time. great script. Thanks. One problem remains:

    When the contacts are viewed one row at a time after the script has been run the "File As" column displays "Forename Surname" even though the Contact details were originally "Surname, Forename" and still are set to this. Modifying the name and saving fixes this problem, and it is a problem as it screws up sorting by "Surname, Forename". Not viable to do this manually for 1000s contacts. Can the script be amended to tackle this?

    The sync also removes all spacing details from phone numbers. this is very annoying but not in the same class of problem as that above.
     
  23. WilliamSiemons

    WilliamSiemons New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    A thousand thnx for this script. Worked excellent for this horrible problem. Registered to thank you guys.
     
  24. juxx

    juxx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6
    hi bunker,
    I don't know if I really understand your problem.
    I use "file as" field as: Last name, first name (Company)
    but my "display as" field is always: First Last (mail@ddre.ss)
    maybe the original script, the one I used as model, can help you.
    Look at post #9 in our tread... or directly OL2002&#58; How to Change the File As Field for All Contacts


    Let me know if this solve.

    I've not problem with phone number spaces...
     
  25. Bunkermentality

    Bunkermentality Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Juxx,

    Thanks for the message. Here is the sequence that illustrates the problem.

    1. Original contact has Full Name = FFFF SSSSSS and File As = SSSSSS, FFFFF.
    2. When contact viewed as a single row in summary display, File As = SSSSSS, FFFF.
    3. Home Phone = 012345 6789.
    4. On phone Display Name is FFFF SSSSSS as this is how it was created by HTC Sync 3. All People have this format. Home Phone = 0123456789, as created by HTC Sync 3 (so HTC Sync 3 has removed the spaces).
    5. Use contact on phone to make call.
    6. HTC Sync 3.
    7. Now Outlook Contact has changed. Email corruption as detailed here. Also Home Phone = 0123456789, this has been updated with the phone version even though this hasn't changed. In full Outlook Contact view, File As = SSSSSS, FFFF. However in single row summary display File As = FFFF SSSSSS. When name is modified in the Outlook Contact summary row File As reverts to SSSSSS, FFFF.

    So when I view Outlook Contacts in summary view some contacts are in FFFF SSSSS format and others are in SSSSSS, FFFF format, so sorting is stuffed.

    I have read that Froyo supports sort options under Contacts and I assume this allows SSSSSS, FFFF format but my Android 2.2 Orange HTC Desire doesn't have Contacts, just People, and this doesn't have any sort options.

    So how to amend the script so that the File As isn't messed about? Also any ideas about the phone space problem?

    Your help is appreciated.

    Paul
     

Share This Page

Loading...