HTC Sync does not find phone with Froyo 2.2Support


Last Updated:

  1. chrisnotton

    chrisnotton Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi All,

    I installed 2.2 (2.6.32.15) with an ota update (T-Mob. branded, connected via Orange).
    Everything seems to work ok but HTC Sync doesn't find the phone. I can mount it as a disc-drive o.k. but Sync says "no device connected"

    I have re-installed & re-started eveything but no go! It worked o.k. before.

    Anyone got any clues?

    Pip pip
     

    Advertisement
  2. chrisnotton

    chrisnotton Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Solution found here:
    http://androidforums.com/desire-support-troubleshooting/64808-htc-sync-cant-find-my-phone.html
    I did search but it wasn't until I started looking myself that I found it Doh! :eek:
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Which specific solution was it?
     
  4. chrisnotton

    chrisnotton Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Uninstall: Reinstall with AV & firewall off. Test, AV & firewall back on. O.K.

    Phone finds HTC Sync when selected on handset. :)
     
  5. mmdesire

    mmdesire New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank guys for this forum, I replied here, but actually found the working solution for me in a "linked" entry above.
    It simply said to unplug htc, and start htc sync. then plug phone (via usb) again. and all worked well. nil need to play with firewall.
    Earlier on I was prompted to install update to htc sync, but this only found that my installed version was actually newer than the one d/ld!
     
  6. James s

    James s New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    my phone will not sync calender back to the pc - have tried all three options
     
  7. peterbalcombe

    peterbalcombe New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds silly but my son pointed out to me that he had experienced the same problems "no device connected" as myself until he connected to a motherboard USB socket on the back of his PC rather than one indiectly connected at the front. Sounds daft but same solution worked for me. Am running Win 7 64bit and my phone is an HTC Desire.
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Nope. Not silly at all. The back USB ports are generally more powerful and better than front usb ports
     
  9. Tom1234

    Tom1234 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi ppl
    after hours of trying everything else after reading some threads i simply turned my phone off then back on again and all was well in the world. now i'm going to go kick myself for awhile for being such a dingbat. hope this helps some of you :rolleyes:
     
  10. new2android21

    new2android21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, a very simple solution to try...

    Make sure your phone's USB setting is changed from "Charge Only" to "HTC Sync" (pull down the notifications window, click on the USB Symbol, and change the bullet to "HTC Sync").

    Worked for me, and the "no device connected" message changed into options for what to sync, when to sync, etc.
     
  11. ScoobyWRX

    ScoobyWRX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    24
    I'd been getting the "device not connected" notice on sync, and the "stay awake" option sorted it out for me :confused:
     
  12. LouHuc

    LouHuc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for this; I've been trying all other tips above, but then noticed that after restarting and reconnecting the Desire not only did the option to choose the connection type appear, but in addition to 'highlighting' the green selected button, the choice of pressing on 'Done' also appeared. (Previously after selecting the green button I'd closed the page.) Sounds a bit simple, but then again its often the simple things that catch us out as we frantically download new installs, copy and paste files every which way etc! Anyways, my Desire is now syncing perfectly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...