HTC Sync ProblemSupport


Last Updated:

  1. desboro

    desboro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Had my DHD for a day now and its ace but ive plugged it into my laptop for the first time tonight and all its doing is charging.

    I want to use HTC Sync to put some music on my phone but nothing happens when i plug it in using my usb cable, the laptop recognises something is plugged in but the connect to pc screen isnt coming up and when i go to it manually and tap disk drive, nothing happens either. I cant seem to find the storage card anywhere on my laptop either, the removable disk is just asking me to insert a disc. :confused:

    Any ideas ? Would be much appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
    bharatraj6 likes this.
  2. dvhttn

    dvhttn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    275
    Is there a microSD card in the phone? It should have an 8GB as standard but maybe your's is missing it?

    Dave
     
  3. mossup

    mossup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've Just got the DHD and had the same thing happen , then realized when plugging in the usb cable change the option from charge only to disk drive then you can browse for your music and transfer it all across.
     
  4. desboro

    desboro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes the micro card is in there.

    And it still isn't doing anything when I change the connect to pc option. It's not even coming up when I plug the usb in. Pissing me right off now.
     
  5. dvhttn

    dvhttn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    275
    Have you installed the HTC Sync SW on your PC? It's on the SD card or you can download it from HTC. And have you tried a different cable?

    Dave
     
  6. Big_Tim

    Big_Tim New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also had this problem.
    I fixed by doing 2 things at the same time, so not sure which fixed it.
    THe first time when it wouldn't work I had installed the software from the SD card, so I uninstalled that.
    I downloaded the software from the HTC site and re-installed that.
    the other thing I did differently was at the point where it says 'Turn off your AV software' I turned off my AV software, which I hadn't done the first time.
    All works perfectly now and synchs each and every time.
     
  7. desboro

    desboro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    How do i install that ? And how do i see whats on the SD card ?

    Ive tried another computer and it does the same thing, nothing aprt from charge.

    Ive plugged it in again tonight and again, bar charging the handset, there nothing happening on the phone or the laptop :confused:
     
  8. dvhttn

    dvhttn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    275
    Go here ... HTC Desire - Software Download ... and download HTC Sync for your PC. Hit the 'download' link and it gives you lots of help. To be honest I'm not sure if I installed it before I connected my DHD or after .... If after then the SD Card must have been recognised as a disk drive when plugged in at first. Hmmm. The memory is going ....

    Before installing go into 'Add or remove programs' and ensure there is no other HTC SW installed. Then install the latest stuff - without the phone being plugged in. Plug it in afterwards and, hopefully, it'll get recognised and, if you choose the HTC Sync option, it'll pop up the HTC Sync SW on your PC.

    If nothing still works, have you tried on another pc and with another cable?

    Dave
     
  9. desboro

    desboro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the help Dave.

    Ive unistalled something and plugged it in again. Found new hardware came up and then its now asking me to insert the disk that came with my ADB ?? Anyone know what that means. Apart from the usb debugging connected message, nothing else is coming up on my phone either.
     
  10. dvhttn

    dvhttn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    275
    Seems very odd. Seems to be looking for the drivers. Did you tell it to find them automatically? It should do this as the drivers are included with the HTC Sync SW.

    Dave
     
  11. drhunter

    drhunter Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    11
    When you connect your phone and pc using the usb cable the phone should ask you how you want to connect. At this point you should choose PC Sync. If it doesn't ask you, you can pull down the top slider bar thing and change it from there or go to settings > connect to PC and change the default connection type!
     
    pull likes this.
  12. webfoolery

    webfoolery Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think you've got 2 seperate issues here mate.

    1) Perhaps you're using a 3rd party cable that supports charging but not data connectivity? Aside from the USB lead I got with the phone P4U threw in another with some freebies. I discovered this 'other' one will only charge the phone & doesn't bring up connection options, guess because it doesn't support data.

    2) That ADB business is popping up because you have enabled USB debugging. It's a seperate bit of s/w I think from the Sync progs. Googling it helps, one result here.

    Now, the odd thing is - if #1 above is true how did your machine manage to pop up with #2 !?!? :D
     
  13. daddy1

    daddy1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help !!
    I'm on struggle street here. Had this HD for 2 weeks, great phone but waaaayyyy behond me at the moment. Tooooo many settings.
    My problems are...
    I downloaded and installed HTC sync v3
    Had initialy been able to synch via usb...contacts, calander ect, but now all I get is the tone to indcate a usb connection has been made and then a pop up "HTC synch port of Desire HD is not responding. Please disconnect and retry after 20 seconds"

    My phone settings are:

    Accnts and Sync;
    Bacground data and Auto Sync are ticked.
    Connect to PC;
    Default connection type "HTC Sync"
    Ask me about USB... is ticked
    Applications;
    USB debugging is ticked

    At one stage I connected in disk mode to transfer movies accross to my phone sucsessfully but I believe that I returned all those settings after that.

    The other problem is that HTC sense doesn't do anything, it used to ring my phone but now it does nothin...Is it my end or HTC problem.

    Hope I get a badge for my first ever post...

    Looking forward to any assistance.
     
  14. taysump

    taysump New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the above; and other posts; finally (after about a year) I've finally got my phone to sync; but it won't allow me to sync calander/people. I have "everything" saved through google contacts/calander etc etc; anyone got any idea how I can sync these (it won't let me select them to "on").

    Thanks in advance...

    Peter
     
  15. daddy1

    daddy1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, It appears I have fixed my problem. I turned the phone off and then back on. Connected via usb sync cable to my desktop and worked fine. Then tried my laptop and all back working again ???

    HTC replied to my mail regarding HTC Sense not working. Here's what they said...

    "Thanks for contacting HTC.


    We appreciate your support for our products.

    We are currently testing our HTC Sense website due to some errors. Please bear with us as we would like to resolve this issue at the soonest possible time. We will be giving you an update through phone and email as soon as we have fixed the errors on the HTC Sense website. Please send us your contact details so that one of our agents may contact you as soon as the HTC Sense website is free from errors and ready for use.

    Should you encounter any difficulties or have any concerns we have provided, please feel free to contact us again.

    You may give us a call at 1300 482 482. Our business hours are from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm SYDNEY Time, from Mondays to Saturdays and closed on Public Holidays.


    Have a nice day!"


     
  16. Tiny65

    Tiny65 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've had the HTCSync issues all listed above. Shut down all running programs using "msconfig" rebooted and loaded the Sync SW. Rebooted to ensure drivers took effect hooked up the DHD and No go at this station, same issues. either it doesn't recognize the phone or I get no way to turn the options on. Too much of a hassle and too frustrated. Loaded up "Myphoneexplorer" and damn, no issues what so ever! imagine that! And a lot more functionality for the price of....nothing! I tried HTC support and they recommended the same thing that didn't work. Tried it on 2 PCs and 1 notebook so wondering if it is something with the phone....oh well no worries now MPE works great...
     
  17. AFordGT

    AFordGT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    My first post - I registered just to share my solution to this problem.

    My DHD was syncing fine with Outlook, but then I started getting the "sync port is not responding" message, though it would still charge.

    Powering the phone off and on made no difference, but I found that a "Restart" of the phone always solves the problem. It's effectively a "soft reset", i.e. it closes all apps and temporary files, and clears the RAM.

    I haven't verified what causes the problem in the first place, but it always seems to happen after I've charged it via the mains adaptor with the same USB cable. My theory is that if you set the PC connection to default to HTC sync rather than charge, the silly thing tries to talk to the mains... :)
     
    Nepherus likes this.
  18. tomynocker

    tomynocker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The restart trick actually worked for me, too. Looks l'll only use the PC to charge my phone from now on.

    Thanks
     
  19. ghost_sgt

    ghost_sgt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Soft reset works quite fine for this issue. To perform a soft reset, simply press the power button for a few seconds until the menu appears and select "Reset" from there. NOTE: DO NOT follow the instructions posted elsewhere to perform a "Hard Reset" as this will reset the phone to the original factory settings and revert to factory defaults.
     
    Nepherus likes this.
  20. luke59

    luke59 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got my Desire HD a few days ago so im new to all this. I tried to sync my phone on my work computer and it doesnt seem to work. I have my SD card hooked up. I did the mount disk drive option and it worked but there was no setup file HTC sence so I went on the website and installed it through there. I set my phone to sync and the first time it recognized my computer but my computer didnt recognize the phone. The second time I tried the phone didnt recognize the comp and the comp didnt recognize the phone. I cant even open the HTC Sense most of the time. It takes like 5 minutes saying updating HTC library and never actually opens.
    What am I doing wrong?
     
  21. landovr

    landovr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    75

    Did you turn off your virus protection when you installed sync.
     
  22. luke59

    luke59 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes I did
     
  23. luke59

    luke59 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried reinstalling it with the anti virus off and the fire wall off and it still the same thing. The software will start to open and then just shuts down.
     
  24. landovr

    landovr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    75
    I had a problem with sync not working when i got my dhd and the only thing that fixed it for me was to factory restore my pc.
     
  25. Nepherus

    Nepherus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's nothing I hate more, than encountering a problem, and not finding a solution.
    I now have solved my problem (the problem everyone here seems to be experiencing.)
    I called HTC Tech support, and the help they offerred me covered only what was mentioned here.


    Here's the problem explained to my understanding of it:

    The phone has an SD card. the SD card is supposed to be 'conditioned' by the phone upon the phone's first full boot. if the person activating the phone puts the battery in first, then the SD card (which is what i believe the salesperson at the store did when he activated my phone) then the phone wont "condition" the SD card.

    following someone's suggestion above to "RESET" the phone (HTC only told me to power off and back on, not 'RESET', and after this post im calling them to advise them to change their trouble shooting methods to not only include this as a solution, but to START WITH IT.)

    when i held the power button, chose to "reset" the phone, it did what people often refer to as a "battery pull" (if you own a blackberry, this is the surefire fix for pretty much anything.............)
    restarted the phone as a full boot.
    when you power off and on, settings and active programs resume running as they were. its the same as putting your pc in "hibernate" mode.

    fully rebooting it, caused my phone to show in notification area: "Preparing SD card for use", then opened the window asking me how to proceed (on my phone) i clicked "data sync" and then my pc opened the HTC Sync automatically and thats where im sitting now.


    decided to register here just to inform you that whoever suggested a soft reset, it works 100%.

    thanks so much!
     

Share This Page

Loading...