1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Htc sync says my device isn't there?Support


Last Updated:

  1. peachy125

    peachy125 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hi all, im completely baffled with my desire hd now and i have done a lot so far too. I have the desire hd with sense, doesn't sound like it has any sense to me though:D. Started off when i first plugged it in to my laptop, it was charging fine the drivers loaded apart from one that failed. With a bit of messing about trying loads of different things i learned i needed htc sync as i bought my phone used and with no cd or micro sd. I put a micro sd in it, went ahead and found the software i needed from htc site, downloaded and sure enough all the drivers loaded fine when i plugged my phone in. When i opened htc sync though it was telling me there is no device connected!

    So please, any help on this would be very much appreciated. Thanks, Martin.
     

    Advertisement
  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    30,512
    Likes Received:
    21,327
    Is your device connected in HTC Sync mode? Via Settings -> Connect to PC, what's the default connection type?
     
  3. peachy125

    peachy125 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hi, when i open up htc sync on laptop i then plug in my desire and connect on the hard disc option. I have just changed it to the htc sync option as i plug the desire in (as you suggested) and it's now fully interacting with htc sync on the laptop. Everyone was telling me it had to be the disc drive option to mount the sd card?
    Just one other thing.....can i obtain updates this way now or change android version, as there doesn't seem to be any update option within htc sync? Sorry i'm a bit of a lightweight with this stuff, i'm just trying to learn all i can. Thanks for your help up to now, very much appreciated.

    Martin...
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    30,512
    Likes Received:
    21,327
    Updates are done on the phone itself, Settings -> About Phone -> Updates (or something similar). I know Samsung do their updates via their PC suite, Kies, but HTC do theirs over the air.

    Any more questions, feel free to ask. :)
     
  5. peachy125

    peachy125 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hi, thanks for that. I went into my phone the way said, via settings > about phone, but there is no option at all for updates?
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    30,512
    Likes Received:
    21,327
    Via that menu, but going to Software Information, is there a check for updates option?
     
  7. peachy125

    peachy125 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hi, it's a bit strange as i have been through them all and there is just no option for updates anywhere. I'm wondering if maybe it has been rooted or something and customised???
     
  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    30,512
    Likes Received:
    21,327
    What's your software & Android version?
     
    peachy125 likes this.
  9. peachy125

    peachy125 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    22
    Android version is 2.3.5 HTC Sense version 3.0 Software number just says "Android revolution HD 6.3.2 by Mike1986".
     
  10. lucids

    lucids Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    25
    menu->settings->about phone (scroll down to end of list)->software updates->check now (at the bottom of the screen when the phone has a internet connection, preferably wifi.)

    But from the sound of it you have a rooted phone with a custom ROM so the option to update may not be available as that would most likely only be available for stock ROMs from the factory.
     
  11. oilfieldoutlaw

    oilfieldoutlaw Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay I have searched and searched and tried hundreds of different things with no luck. I have the EVO 4g lte and ordered off Amazon so no ad card. I downloaded htcsync from the site and htcsync manager when I plug my phone in the manager will recognize my phone but HTC sync won't. I have the sync on on my phone tried toggling debugging on and off deleted the htcsync and reloaded and still says no device detected. I'm up for suggestions. And in advance thank for all help and sorry if I'm on the wrong thread. And just and FYI I'm not being lazy I have searched.....might be ignorant, but not lazy.
     
  12. jamesoffice

    jamesoffice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here

    Have downloaded HTC Sync (not HTC Sync Manager) on my Sony Vaio running Windows 7.
    When I downloaded it I got an error message but HTC Sync IS installed and opens fine.

    The HTC Desire HD connects fine via USB but when I go to 'HTC Sync' on the phone I get an error message on the phone saying 'unable to find HTC Sync on your pc' every time.

    I have done updates on the phone but no change?


    Anyone had/solved this problem?


    Thanks
     
  13. jamesoffice

    jamesoffice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Email from HTC:

    My reply to HTC:

    Getting bored of this now.
     
  14. sadaqat

    sadaqat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi
    sadaqat here from pakistan. i am also having the problem about HTC Sync. also cant find option named Manage applications and HTC Sync does not appear to be on my handset at all? what to do now?
    Secondly how i can browse my SD card i only can access my card via gallery option . plz reply .
     
  15. lucids

    lucids Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    25
    Go to google play and look for an app called astro, its a file manager app you can install the browse your files. There are many other similar apps also that do the same thing :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...