HTC Sync with Eris and VistaGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. KE4NYV

    KE4NYV Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    Has anyone been able to sync their Eris in Vista? I have yet to get HTC Sync to even see my phone. The only way I know that I can even see it is by doing a USB mount to copy files over to the MicroSD.

    I did some Googling and it looks like others are having the same problem. Just wondering if anyone found a work around. I have yet to try it on one of my XP machines.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. butthead007

    butthead007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    28
    Mine Duncan fine. Hit the sync button in notifications when plugged in.
     
  3. xene97

    xene97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    I just remembered what I had to do to get my PC (Win7) to recognize my phone (and confirmed it on the HTC website). "The USB debugging check box in Home > Menu > Settings > Applications > Development needs to be selected for the phone to be able to synchronize with the PC using HTC Sync."

    Give that a try
     
  4. KE4NYV

    KE4NYV Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for the suggestion, but it was a no go. I actually already had USB Debugging on for playing with some java app development, but I went back there to make sure it was still checked.

    I have HTC Sync up and running, I plug the phone in and I get the HTC sync noti., so I click that to start a sync and it just sits there looking for the sync app on the computer. Never seems to find it.

    I know the computer sees the phone because I can run the ddms.bat file from the SDK and grab screenshots.
     
  5. xene97

    xene97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    In HTC Sync go to the Tools>Phone Monitor Options. Do you see your/any phone listed?
     
  6. KE4NYV

    KE4NYV Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    No devices are shown.
     
  7. xene97

    xene97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    I remember I had to do an uninstall/reinstall before it worked. Maybe try another port?
     
  8. KE4NYV

    KE4NYV Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    I did a complete re-install of HTC Sync right over the installed version. I also let Windows re-discover the phone and re-install the driver. This time around, HTC Sync took it and ran. I was able to re-add my device back in and it seems to be working now.

    One last question though, I opted to sync with Windows Contacts. When I run a sync, Windows Contacts is empty. Is this a one-way operation, just PC to phone? I was hoping I could import everything in the phone to Windows Contacts. In the past, sync meant both devices would have a carbon copy of contacts, ect. I hope that is the case here and I am just missing somthing.

    Thanks for all of your help!
     
  9. xene97

    xene97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    If you go into Sync Manager>Settings>Conflict Policy you can make it a one-way sync. If Contacts is currently empty and you choose to do a two-way sync it should still import everything from the phone to Contacts.
     
  10. KE4NYV

    KE4NYV Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    I gave this a shot, but it did'nt sync anything. I chose to overwrite the contacts on the PC, from the phone. Nothing.
     
  11. xene97

    xene97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    Do you get any errors or does the progress indicator show that everything synced? If you can't see the indicator you can turn it on in Sync Manager>Settings>Silent Sync
     
  12. KE4NYV

    KE4NYV Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    I get indication that it syncs fine, no errors. It just doesn't appear to transfer anything, either way.
     
  13. xene97

    xene97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    So it doesn't show any items being added to the PC? I was hoping that sync was copying the data to a different profile and we just had to find it.

    Try removing the phone in the Phone Monitor and recreating the relationship. Seems like with HTC sync you have to do everything at least twice.
     
  14. threeonbre

    threeonbre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problem with trying to sync my droid eris to my vista.... its telling me i am suppose to make sure that HTC sync is installed and opened on my computer... and if its not to download it from HTC - Touch Phone, PDA Phone, Smartphone, Mobile Computer: Support ..... but when i go there my phone is no where to be found when i go to select my phone type.... i also looked above to see if it was a problem with USB debugging check box not being selected but mine was checked.... i need some help, please.
     
  15. KE4NYV

    KE4NYV Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sorry, I did'nt mean to abandon this, but I had to run the other day and did'nt get any further. I did however notice that the single test contact I made in Windows Contacts was sent to the phone. All of the contacts on the phone were NOT transferred back to the computer to create a carbon copy on both ends.

    I am still at a loss on this one.
     
  16. KE4NYV

    KE4NYV Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    As I stated above, I finally got this going by essentially re-installing everything over again. I started with the phone unconnected, reinstalled HTC Sync and then connected the phone. This allowed the driver to re-install. I also made sure that USB debugging was enabled this time.

    One thing I did different this go around was had HTC Sync up and running while Windows was installing the driver. That seemed to be the magic key for me anyways. I am not sure if that made a difference, but this time, it actually saw the phone an allowed me to add it for sync.
     

Share This Page

Loading...