HTC Tattoo Problems


Last Updated:

  1. fouldsc

    fouldsc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I've got a problem with my app on HTC Tattoo
    Basically on a input screenI use onTextChanged() on EditText elements to kick off a calculation that updates the output on the screen.

    I have had a bug report from a user of a HTC Tattoo that the output does not get updated, which makes me thing the onTextChanged() isn't working for some reason ?!?!

    Here is an example of one of my EditText elements
    <EditText
    android:layout_toRightOf="@+id/btn_id_1"
    android:layout_alignTop="@+id/btn_id_1"
    android:nextFocusUp="@+id/input_calc_2"
    android:nextFocusDown="@+id/input_calc_2"
    android:nextFocusLeft="@+id/input_calc_2"
    android:nextFocusRight="@+id/input_calc_2"
    android:text=""
    android:hint="hint text"
    android:id="@+id/input_calc_1"
    android:layout_width="160sp"
    android:layout_centerHorizontal="false"
    android:inputType="phone"
    android:maxLength="10"
    android:textSize="12sp"
    android:layout_height="35sp">
    </EditText>

    With
    (EditText) edText = (EditText)findViewById(R.id.input_calc_1);
    edText .addTextChangedListener(mUpdateListener);

    private TextWatcher mUpdateListener= new TextWatcher()
    {

    public void afterTextChanged (Editable s)
    {
    // Log.d("seachScreen", "afterTextChanged");
    }

    public void beforeTextChanged (CharSequence s, int start, int count, int after)
    {
    // Log.d("seachScreen", "beforeTextChanged");
    }

    public void onTextChanged (CharSequence s, int start, int before, int count)
    {
    calcNewValue();
    }
    };



    Can anyone spot anything that would make it not work on a Tattoo ?
    What is the best way of emulating it ? , I have run the emulator on 1.6 Android and 320x240px and it works.

    I am stumped on this one.
     

    Advertisement
  2. MIIISTER NEUGIT

    MIIISTER NEUGIT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would not be device specific, but only os specific. Ask the person what version they have of android os and test it on an emulator of that version. Then if it doesn't work, put a toast in each method that says the name of the method to see if it is called. Then you should be able to pinpoint the problem.
     
  3. MIIISTER NEUGIT

    MIIISTER NEUGIT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    PS: You should always test on ALL platforms before releasing.
     
  4. fouldsc

    fouldsc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are running 1.6

    For info
    I DO test on 1.6,2.0,2.1 & 2.2 and at four screen resolutions and both in portrait and landscape modes ;) ;)
    I am not new at this software game and make a decent living from it, just moving into Android.

    They say it's 1.6 , it works on emulator 1.6 and on other 1.6 devices such as HTC Magic. Maybe it's 1.6 and HTC Sense combo as Magic nor emulator has it - but device does.

    I guess I need to find a tester with a 1.6 Tattoo to throw some experimental builds at.
    Only other difference is they are dutch, I tried in that language on emulator and it still works. :rolleyes:
     
  5. omegleandroid

    omegleandroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Fouldsc, any chance you happen to have figured out what is the fix for this problem?

    I am encountering the very same bug by a few users of my app, and I have no physical device to reproduce it on.

    Happy holidays,
    Jim
     
  6. fouldsc

    fouldsc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, I just added a "Menu->Update" option.
    It is HTC Tattoo specific, 16k+ downloads, only happens on that device despite the condescending comments I got when I asked.
     
  7. omegleandroid

    omegleandroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your quick reply.
    Just FYI, I have customers experiencing the issue on Galaxy i7500 too.

    br,
     
  8. omegleandroid

    omegleandroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    By the way, do you have "android:windowSoftInputMode" set in AndroidManifest.xml?

    Mine is:
    <activity... android:windowSoftInputMode="adjustResize">
     
  9. fouldsc

    fouldsc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    no ,caused issues on other devices - is android .... great ????
     

Share This Page

Loading...