HTC's SENSE UISupport


Last Updated:

  1. Roddy

    Roddy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    Can this be installed on the Moment?? If so, i believe i will get the moment!! the Hero was a little too small for me, especially by it being a virtual qwerty.
     

    Advertisement
  2. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    No at this point it can't. You can get almost all the widgets in the market to make it the same, but you wouldn't get a few of them or the modified Dialer/Contacts. If you can wait a few months I am sure someone will port a Hero ROM for the Moment and then you can flash it and have Sense.
     
  3. Roddy

    Roddy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks alot CRPercodani
     
  4. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    No problem. If you have any questions ask away, I've been using Android for awhile and can inform you on a lot of things about it.
     
  5. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was wondering the same thing, so I came upon this thread. What are the functional differences between stock android and android with senseUI? I was playing around with both the hero and the moment at the sprint store yesterday... and the hero certainly seems much more ... sexy? It's really cool... before I had seen them both in person I was leaning towards the moment, but once I saw senseUI... I'd be sad to go without it. I was surprised too... since I'm not a fan of touchflo on my current winmo-based Touch (w/ wm6.5 rom installed).

    Has anyone seen a feature list for both? I'd really like to know what I'd be missing... and then I can have an easier time figuring out what can be replicated with apps from the android market.
     
  6. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    Depending on how you tricked out the stock android, you wouldnt miss much of anything but the integration with Facebook. Which wont be a big deal if Samsung updates the OS to 2.0. At that point, it'll be native to android.

    I forgot, you'd also miss Flash Lite. Which is very "hit & miss" when it comes to sites using Flash. That however is also going away when Adobe cuts loose Flash 10.1 in 2010.
     
  7. T120ted

    T120ted Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Honestly I don't see why people keep wanting to put sense on this. After having both phones I am more than happy to have sense off of my phone. With sense there really is no customization. You have to revert back to openhome or such plus you have sense still running in the background. With a stock android the sky is the limit on customizing your phone. I have 7 screens on my Moment plus a pull out that has all my major widgets and it takes up no room on the home screen. Yes you might miss the flash lite but I don't as it rarely worked as it was. and the pinch zoom was so laggy I prefer the browser with stock. Sense to me is a company telling you what you want your phone to look like and I prefer what android is all about, I what my phone to look the way I want it. To each their own though. B4 I got the moment I was with everyone else and wanted to port sense on to my moment if I got it. I have it now and Sense will never make it's way on my phone when I get it rooted. Try to customize one in store then try and customize the hero after. You might be happier with stock. You can't compare the two til you do it though. I wouldn't let the hype of sense ui keep you from choosing your phone.
     
  8. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks T120ted... that helps a lot. I'm really leaning heavily towards the moment... the only other thing the hero has that I'd miss is the facebook/contacts sync stuff... Wonder how long it's going to take for android 2.0 to hit this phone. The screen on the moment is multi-touch capable if the OS ever supports it, right?
     
  9. T120ted

    T120ted Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it's multi touch capable. I did find that using the browser I liked the moment a lot better, if it helps. On the hero even with the pinch zoom I had to zoom in more than I wanted to actully read things. The Moment I can read at all levels in the browser. I'm not missing the multi touch at all really. It made a lot of difference for me. Everything was plain unreadable on the hero unless you zoomed in and then had to move the screen back and forth to get through with sentences if that makes any sense. On the moment with its resolution I can see the whole page and still read the small print.
     
  10. kayawire

    kayawire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2

    Hmmm T120ted, Did you try double tapping on the screen in order to zoom in on the text? Cause I used to do that with my Hero and it would autoformat the text to fit the screen size, hence no need to scroll back and front through sentences to read !

    Anyways, even though we dont have multi-touch on the Moment, I enjoy the browser experience much better... its faster and smoother... ( may have something to do with 800 mhz processor:))
     
  11. T120ted

    T120ted Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I know how to multi tap etc. I've only had every Iphone offered as well as a touchscreen pc in my car and one installed in my pc case. It was something that kept bothering me on the Hero and that's why My comment. I do notice the difference in text. Everyone is different. I could have older eyes than you.
     
  12. LLTT113

    LLTT113 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you do that?
     
  13. LLTT113

    LLTT113 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you download everything in this paragraph....7 screens, widget storage please i need that....
     
  14. Weeton

    Weeton Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can use an advanced home replacement. Some are free (pandahome, openhome lite, ahome lite, advancedlauncher) and some are paid for but often well worth it (openhome, ahome).

    Advancedlauncher will give you up to 10 screens, but openhome allows you to theme.
     

Share This Page

Loading...