huh?? SG2 SD card and internal storage got me confusedSupport


Last Updated:

  1. vengance007

    vengance007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    11
    hey peeps.... im baffled. the SD card n internal storage seem... well the same... i dunno how to explain it. its a lil tricky to access ur memory card. got there thanks to astro file manager. it was under external. is it me or does the memory situation seem confusing..??
     

    Advertisement
    sos4ever likes this.
  2. Gearu

    Gearu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    86
    The 16GB of the phone memory is split, some of the 16GB is not there for the same reason you only get 14GB on a blank 16GB microSD, the some is taken for the Operating system, then the rest is split in to two pieces, I think 1.8 or 2GB is in one place and reserved for applications, and the leftovers are for storing pictures/music/video.

    I'm just glad that for the external microSD card folder they stuck a small card icon on the folder, the phones music/video data storage area is called sdcard lol and it is indeed strange.
     
    flyguyutah and MentalCare like this.
  3. lotus49

    lotus49 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    230
    MentalCare likes this.
  4. vantiveman

    vantiveman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    But still there is another problem that I have already posted on. Many apps store their data in /sdcard. Fine for other devices where that folder is the external SD card, but with the SGS2 this is the name of the internal memory. This meand that all big Gameloft games, plus GPS apps like CoPilot and Sygic, need to use the phones' internal memory, or they don't work!
    I see no way to get either GPS apps or Gameloft games to store theor huge amounts of data on the 'REAL' SGS2 external memory, which is called sdcard_external.
     
    sos4ever likes this.
  5. vantiveman

    vantiveman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    oops - Sorry, but the external SD card is actually called exterrnal_sd and can be found as a sub-folder of sdcard. So much for relying on MY memory :)
     
    sos4ever, KeithAmbrose and MentalCare like this.
  6. CanelaKid

    CanelaKid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a new SGS2. This has had me confused all afternoon. Being normal I would like to save all my large files - Music, Pictures, Videos, Maps for GPS (Sygic) etc. to my EXTERNAL SDCARD as a default.

    Any chance we can rename the User Internal Storage from SDCARD to something else, maybe renaming mount points or something? (Not Rooted)
     
  7. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,070
    Likes Received:
    15,654
    The solution lies with pressuring developers to allow user selection of the data location. As the post linked to by Lotus49 explains, the internal memory partition has to be named /sdcard to maintain compatibility with apps.

    Tbh I'm surprised that more didn't see this coming when Google speced the Nexus S with no external memory card provision.
     
    sos4ever likes this.
  8. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    763
    You can select default install location internal SD or external SD on some custom ROMs, so if this is a major for some people thats worth looking into.
     
    sos4ever likes this.
  9. gunsnroses

    gunsnroses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    as 2gb space for sum apps or other is about to fil up my phone suggests 2 move them on sd card and when i try 2 move it says not enough memory and wen i c the free space it shows 11gb free.
     
  10. KeithAmbrose

    KeithAmbrose Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same here. Help?
     
  11. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    166
  12. flyguyutah

    flyguyutah New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't designate as "default" on Galaxy SII phone...wish you could...at least, I can't figure out how and all of the threads I have read confirm the same.
     

Share This Page

Loading...