Hurro n00b! Rooted? Stop! Do not pass GO! No flashy-flashy! **BACK UP YOUR PHONE**


Last Updated:

  1. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    This will potentially make recovering from your mistakes much less painful for you and for the person on here talking you through it. It seems the Fascinate is becoming a victim of its own success lately and there are more and more inexperienced users mucking up their phone. I did not see a post that clearly explained this, so I thought I'd try. All the regulars who are smarter than me feel free to chime in and I'll edit if necessary.

    I use 2 programs to back up my phone. They are both useful for different things.

    The first is Clockworkmod Recovery/ROMmanager. The second is Titanium Backup.

    Clockworkmod is an alternate recovery screen that works in tandem with ROMmanager, an app. You need to install CWM with your PC, then download ROMmanager from the market. See Clockworkmod installation how to for windows / *nix - xda-developers You need to install this to flash ROMs, anyway. Pretty much, if your phone turns on, you can get into the recovery screen even if most everything is FUBAR. This program essentially takes a picture of your phone in its current state, and you can return to that state later if something bad happens. The backup states are colloquially referred to as "nandroids."

    Titanium just backs up all your apps and their data. Not quite as involved. For smaller problems.

    Clockwork
    example 1 - zomg i gotz da reutz but then deleted/froze touchwiz because the interwebz told me it was teh suk and now nothing works what to dooooooo HALP

    example 2 - i downloaded this brightness widget and now my phone screen won't turn on noo00oo00oozzz

    example 3 - i flashed a rom and now it's force-close-city i can't get my phone to do anything i can't believe they put this on rom manager and said stable this is BS i'm 14 this is my first phone my dad told me not to reutz and now he's mad i want my moneyz back and everyone here that told me it was a good rom needs to help me fix now! WAAAAAAAH

    ANSWER - boot into the recovery screen, restore backup state via Clockwork, watch the magic happen

    Titanium
    example 1 - i flashed a rom and now all my apps are gone wtf i'm in class and i can't play angry birds and waste my parents' tuition moneyz i was on the last level and now i redownloaded and it's at the beginning zomg i need some weed yo

    example 2 - i updated my [X] app from the market and now I get force closes/it wants me to pay etc.. fragmentation sux i want da iphonez why didn't they test this app i'm gonna go leave them 1 star

    ANSWER - batch restore all your apps via TiBU (it'll remember where you were in your games, your settings etc..), or restore an older version of that malicious app update that you just installed

    Final point:

    FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS HOLY: DO **NOT**NOT**NOT** FLASH VOODOO KERNELS UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING. IT CAN MAKE RECOVERING FROM MISTAKES MUCH MORE INVOLVED. IF ANYTHING IN THIS POST IS EVEN REMOTELY FOREIGN TO YOU, VOODOO IS A BAD IDEA.

    phew. sorry.
     

    Advertisement
    Bob-o, davidnmegan6907 and nitsuj17 like this.
  2. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    haha funny, but educational stuff
     
  3. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
  4. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    130
    Yea I will second that. I'm glad to be past the point of needing this but looking back just a month I could see this being a big help.

    Also I would like to add to the new rooters out there come in and ask questions if you feel unsure. There are plenty of people in here that will help you at any point, but I can't speak for everyone else but I would much rather help you learn what to do than help fix a borked phone because you were shy to ask. Don't be afraid to ask any ? We were all noobs at one time.:D
     
  5. grin0048

    grin0048 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    35
    On a related note, I know I've read in various places that creating nandroid backups when running voodoo can be problematic. Is this still the case for voodoo5? What's the procedure for making a backup?
     
  6. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    I haven't tried restoring one yet (did make one), but supposedly you can make functional backups from the special red Voodoo recovery screen that comes with the latest V5 kernels.
     
    grin0048 likes this.
  7. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    With voodoo 2 lagfix had to be disabled to backup/restore... ...voodoo 5 as of 11/29 i think has full backup and restore capabilities
     
    grin0048 likes this.
  8. Bryf50

    Bryf50 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've wondered what sort of problems there are with freezing touchwiz. I've had it frozen for a while now with great success.
     
  9. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    Honestly, don't know. I know renaming/deleting TW will send you into a force-close loop. I always put LP in the system/app folder before the TW rename/delete and it's fine on the next boot, not sure what would happen if there was no launcher in system/app, maybe it would use the one in data/app maybe not. If there was none in data/app either you'd be in trouble.

    Maybe there was a little poetic license there :D
     
  10. Bryf50

    Bryf50 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yea I made sure Launcher pro was the default prior to freezing it. I could understand that freezing the only launcher on the phone can't be a good idea.
     
  11. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    Did you move LP to the system/app folder or no?
     
  12. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    some people have successfully frozen tw or deleted it outright in titanium and been successful while the majority havent :cough: me :cough:

    so while for many it wont work and cause an odin restore to fix, some it has for whatever reason :eek:
     
  13. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    130
    Bump I think all NooB rooters need to take a look at this yet again good job nos :)
     
    nitsuj17 likes this.
  14. DuoWing

    DuoWing Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a quick question I wanted to throw here. I made a backup on both my incredible and fascinate through clockworkmod. Copied that backup over to my pc's harddrive for safe keeping as well. Anyway I was curious, when you do a backup like that and then flash to something like DJ05 it's my understanding that you can't then use your nandroid backup because you've flashed the radio? You would essentially have to flash the radio to say DI01 and then you could install your backup or say you did try to go to DJ05 something gets screwed up, could you just recover from your backup and be right back where you were before you started?

    I'm still a n00b to this, but I am trying to learn.
     
  15. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    Yeah, if you reinstall di01 modem after messing with dj05 you should be able to restore your di01 nandroid. Don't forget to flash the right kernel, too, di01 and dj05 need different ones for everything to work.
     
  16. DuoWing

    DuoWing Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    The nandroid doesn't reinstall the kernel you had? I saw someone mention it did, but I'm still not sure on that. That's pretty much what I was wondering, if I reinstalled the DI01 modem, then went through clockwork and just loaded my nandroid DI01 backup, wouldn't that then flash the kernel and the Rom and I'd be good to go, or I do still have to flash the DI01 stock kernel separately?
     
  17. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    No, no kernel AFAIK
     

Share This Page

Loading...