Hydra Kernals and OTA Update


Last Updated:

  1. taris300

    taris300 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hey ya'll root noob with a question. I'm bout to root, and wanna run a Hydra kernel, but I wanna know if the recent OTA could mess with the way the kernels work. More specifically the fact that the OTA brought 802.11N with it, yet the kernel has the option for it. Should I not use the Hydra with N?
    Just want to make sure having the OTA won't mess with any functionality of a custom kernel.

    Thanks!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    My advice is to not use Hydra kernels with the new update. The new update contains newer kernel code, and none of us currently have access to the source to know what all has been changed.
     
    Bearly and taris300 like this.
  3. hbk5585

    hbk5585 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    16
    Take it from someone who has installed the OTA, then the hydra kernel over it...don't do it...I can confirm that the actual OS works but the camera doesn't...
     
    Squintz82 and taris300 like this.
  4. taris300

    taris300 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks to both ya'll for the quick responses!! In that case I'll hold off on root and kernels for now
     
  5. JustinD2473

    JustinD2473 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    11
    I also installed a hydra kernel and it didnt work so good...ie no camera being the biggest noticeable side effect.

    RUU'ing my phone back to stock to start over at the moment.
     
  6. xvenom89

    xvenom89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    Really? I'm using the undervolt hydra kernel without any issues. Camera works fine, too. I'm running the latest OTA update.
     
  7. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    Which kernel exactly?

    And, are you running the leaked OTA update (720p video)?
     
  8. Dmtalon

    Dmtalon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm running the Hydra under volt-stock clock w/o the leaked OTA and the camera works just fine.

    No issues notices as of yet.
     
  9. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    Try recording 720p.
     

Share This Page

Loading...