I am not in contract(Tmo).If I use unlocked Vibrant


Last Updated:

  1. chanmax

    chanmax New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not in contract(Tmo).If I use unlocked Vibrant, will I be forced to charge 30/month dataplan?? If yes, unlocked phone is not meaningful...
     

    Advertisement
  2. darksandz93

    darksandz93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm pretty sure they wont. Its unlocked and if you didn't get it from T-Mobile then you don't have to pay the $30. You can always use the "dumbphone" $10 web on it.
     
  3. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    NO, the $10 T-Mo plan will not work on any Vibrant, even if it is unlocked. You might have it work for a couple days, but expect a notice to upgrade shortly.
     
  4. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Are you asking, if you get an unlocked Vibrant, will you be charged a data fee? UMMM YES

    Why should you get free data just because your phone is unlocked or rooted? Unlocking allows you to use a different carrier on the vibrant, for example an At&t sim card.

    IF you want 3G internet, you will need to pay T-Mobile for the service.

    JUST TO SET THE RECORD STRAIGHT.... the 5.99 and 10 dollar T-Mobile data plans WILL NOT work on the Vibrant, regardless of it being rooted or unlocked. The most, if you are lucky, cross your fingers, and pray to god, you might get away with it for about 1 week, then you will for SURE get a notice to update your internet to the Android data plan.

    By the way... an unlocked phone might not be meaningful when you are trying to swindle T-Mobile into getting free internet on your phone. However, to millions of people who travel beyond the US borders, an unlocked phone is very valuable to them. Especially when you can travel anywhere you want, pop in a new sim card, and avoid paying outrageus T-Mobile international fees. After all, this is the point of having an unlocked phone, nobody ever said the point was to get free or cheap internet.
     
  5. chanmax

    chanmax New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh, I mean if I wont add the 30/mon data plan, will it automatically added ??
     
  6. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    If you buy the phone full retail, then no you don't need to add any data plan, you can use wifi to get internet. Has nothing to do with being unlocked or rooted.

    However, if you plan to qualify for a subsidy, or any rebates, then yes, T-Mobile will require a data plan or messaging plan of 14.98 or higher.

    So you have several options to avoid a data plan, buy the phone on ebay, pay full retail, or get a messaging data plan of 14.98 or higher, you will still qualify for subsidy and rebates.
     
  7. melll

    melll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    35
    Straight up answer. You wont be forced into anything. You wont have data plan. will however be able to use wifi.

    And data plan would be up to you, optional.

    I think people misunderstood your post.
     
  8. chanmax

    chanmax New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh, sorry for confuse you great guys... I brought a phone on ebay, much cheaper than retail. I dont want to use 30/mon dataplan right now because I am always at home--subway--office so the 3G service is useless.

    I am not in contract so I think I can use Tmo's flexy pay(like 49.99/mon 750min for me and my girlfriend). That's much cheaper than contract prices...
     
  9. howetechnical

    howetechnical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    Whatever your sim card is provisioned for is what you will get. If you have a flex pay sim card that's minutes only, then you'll get minutes only on your Vibrant. The device doesn't really matter if you're not paying for data.
     
    Aiyan likes this.
  10. Aiyan

    Aiyan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    40
    Cheers for posting this, since I was wondering little bit about this subject as well.

    Though my case for unlocked phone is me being Norwegian, and I wanted to grab a phone which I both use in Norway and Canada. Without going intl. since it robs my wallet that way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...