I am Rooted, but can't seem to get ROM Flashed! HELP!!


Last Updated:

  1. jonwlewis

    jonwlewis Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    6
    I don't know if I am just dumb, or what but I have a problem. I am running 2.1 rooted and I am trying to flash Fresh's ROM onto my phone. I have put it in the root dir of my SD card. I have renamed it update.zip. When I go into the boot mode and select run update.zip from the menu, it never installs. It always says error. Also, the only choice I have at the boot menu is update. I don't have the choice to choose the zip file I would like to run. Am I doing something wrong? Please help. Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. theimpaler

    theimpaler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is your RA version? It will say at the bottom of the screen when you boot into recovery mode.
     
  3. radxcoresteven

    radxcoresteven Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    What's the error? Once I copied an incomplete zip and tried to update, and it failed giving me an error..
     
  4. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    What do you mean you are running 2.1 rooted? 2.1 isn't released yet, so unless you either flashed the leaked 2.1 or are already are running a different ROM that is 2.1, then something is wrong.
     
  5. jonwlewis

    jonwlewis Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am running the leaked 2.1. It is rooted. The ROM that I am flashing to is the Fresh Rom. It is not incomplete. It did the same thing to me when I aslo tried to flash the Dameged ROM onto my phone.
     
  6. me2u69

    me2u69 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hm.....
    At any rate you need to flash this from recovery and there is no reason to rename the file!
    I don't know why people think they need to rename the file!

    Edit:
    Forgot one thing, if you can't get into recovery then you are not rooted!
     
  7. Penny

    Penny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you get the leaked 2.1 on your phone? If you have that then you must have flashed it and are rooted....did you flash a recovery image when you rooted? Also as was posted above what RA are you using? It may be outdated. Also if you are running a newer ROM then you may have to go back to stock RUU before flashing a ROM that is older build unless you made a nandroid backup......I may be wrong but that is what I have been told.
     

Share This Page

Loading...