I bit the bullet....I bought it.General


Last Updated:

  1. solidkevin

    solidkevin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    12
    After much debate and doubts I said screw it! I laid down the $640 for it, should be here this week, Ive been hearing about the reviews and peoples opinions and such but I think I will like it. I mean to me it has everything! Awesome screen, awesome camera, Android!, will be updated to 2.1, and looks super awesome! Once I get it I will give my impression, I live in the US and use ATT so I'll let you guys know, Ive also used Devices like the N1, Hero and HD2 so I can make some comparisons.

    Heres hoping its awesome!
     

    Advertisement
  2. blaze_dave

    blaze_dave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well done :)

    Well I have had mine for 2 days now and it is an amazing phone! So much you can do with it and it's very responsive.

    The sound level and battery is good but could be better. These are the only bad things that I have noticed, but apart from that it's ace!

    ENJOY :D
     
  3. kersey

    kersey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    20
    Same here...am loving this phone especially now I've got everything working as I want thanks the Android Marketplace.

    You've made a good choice solidkevin
     
  4. blaze_dave

    blaze_dave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah the Android Marketplace has eveything you need! I got lost for hours there lol.
     
  5. lcrkz0023

    lcrkz0023 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well I hate to be killjoy but since you are AT&T the model you purchased isnt 3G for AT&T..it is only for Tmobile. You need the X10a model or the Canadian Rogers unlocked X10 both of which isnt released yet. So you're experience may not be all that great just working off Edge.
     
  6. solidkevin

    solidkevin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    12
    No. There are 2 versions a 1900 3G model which works on ATT 3G just like the Acer Liquid and the 1700 3G version which works with T-Mobile 3G.
     
  7. adybaby

    adybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    The camera is OK but no auto flash (has to be on all the time or not at all)

    You cant send one of your contacts to someone elses mobile.

    No Itunes (but I guess we new that)

    Battery does seem to be poor - but then I have been playing a lot with it initially.
     
  8. blaze_dave

    blaze_dave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  9. waleed786

    waleed786 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    ATT has 2 3g bands. 850 and 1900. The X10 has 1900 and 2100. The 1900 will work, but only in some locations. Most of the United States is using ATT's 850 band. So it probably won't work, but if it does, don't expect great reception or high download speeds.
     
  10. solidkevin

    solidkevin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yea I dont really care about 3g, Ive used the Hero, Hd2 and N1 on edge and its fine for me.
     
  11. Markiz

    Markiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    You seriously find that to be a problem? Itunes is the biggest peace of shit in the history of mankind. Apple is that good at spins.

    Battery is actually the best on the market from what i know (1500). It's just that the screen and proc suck it up.
     
  12. nottmbantam

    nottmbantam Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    I thought there was no flash at all?

    I've been looking at this phone and been very tempted with this one or the HTC Desire, but this just seems to offer a little more - bigger screen, bigger internal memory for apps, better camera (?) - but the downsides seems to be - no flash (?) and the fact that it is currently only on Android 1.6 , not v2.

    Does seem odd to introduce a phone with an 8mp cmaera but not to include any flash function?
     
  13. Smg

    Smg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    38
    There is a LED which at the moment is used as a photo "light" and it works pretty well.

    But when phone gets updated to a newer version of android it will be possible to use it as a flash.
     
  14. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,814
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    There is an LED flash, it's not an auto flash though. Well you can always check the market to see if there's an app that'd make the flash an auto flash. I know there are ones that keeps the LED light on, but I think you'd need to root for that but root is not available to the X10 yet.
     
  15. werthers

    werthers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    The flash on the old SE's were crap and made everything too bright so I'm not fussed about the light.
    If I were you solidkev I'd get juice defender, startup auditor and taskiller to save your battery and I've heard running it down to 0 then charging it back up helps but i'm not sure if mine is holding charge better because of this or the apps
     
  16. solidkevin

    solidkevin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hey guys! Just thought I'd give an update!

    So far battery has been EXCELLENT! I mean best battery Ive ever had on a Touch Screen Phone, really good!

    Camera is just ok, its kinda under par imo, I mean it takes good pictures but definitely not what you'd expect form an 8mp shooter.

    I wish I would have listened and waited for a 3G Enabled version, Edge is slow, I know I said it was surprisingly fast earlier but browsing on edge can be a pain when you want quick access to something, with that being said its not terrible.

    So far I love it! One of the best Devices out there imo, only drawback is no 3G, only way I'll get another device is if it has US 3G and it is equal or better in specs (desire, Droid etc)
     
  17. Crash27

    Crash27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    42
    I have had my new X10 for a few days and it is a great phone, a lot better than my LG Eve, I am on Rogers and the phone is pretty quick on the 3G network, I have been doing most of my downloading off my WiFi but even when I am out and about I still have quick access to everything. I see a lot have different versions, I am in ontario and mine is the X10a version which has 3G, but like everything you buy it and a week later something newer comes out. LOL.. but for now I am happy, I got mine on a great deal, I bought the X10 for myself and a Samsung Galaxy for the girlfriend and they sold both to us for $100 which was a great deal, plus it came with a 16GB Micro SD card which is a nice add on. But for now I wait for the updates to come out and hopefully an larger battery..
     
  18. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,814
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    Man that's really a good deal...you must be a new to Rogers, I can't imagine them giving this deal for existing customers that are upgrading, lol, care to share how you got the deal?
     

Share This Page

Loading...