I can not seem to backup my phone


Last Updated:

  1. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have tried to backup my phone multiple ways and I have not had any luck.

    I manually rooted my phone, using the steps on this webpage:
    [GUIDE] How To Root The Sprint CDMA Hero (Windows) - xda-developers

    Manual Root Backup
    When I tried the step 19 reboot recovery my phone just reboots to an HTC splash screen.

    CLOCKWORK MOD

    I also tried to use the clockwork mod market app to make a backup as see on this page
    [Complete Guide] How To Fully Back Up And Restore Your Android Phone Using Nandroid Backup | Android News, Reviews, Applications, Games, Phones, Devices, Tips, Hacks, Videos, Podcasts - Android Police

    I click flash clockwork mod recovery
    it auto senses my phone cdma htc hero
    I click on the hero, and nothing happens, I never receive a successfully flashed.

    PREKITCHEN
    Last I tried to perform a backup using prekitchen
    the diagnostic showed I am green in all areas
    I click on the nandroid backup and it reboots my phone and brings up a HTC splash screen.

    basically I have to pull out the battery to get phone functionality back.

    I have read else where that I can hold volume down and power to bring up a recovery mod (this works) but I am not sure what to do when I get there.

    Any help or advice would be appreciated


    Thanks much in advance!

    Brandon
     

    Advertisement
  2. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Once you are in recovery you choose create backup, and then make a nandroid backup.
     
  3. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    4
    Wut! I now have a backup of my phone, and I was able to successfully restore from my backup! I would say i am ready to flash now.

    I am thinking about going with damagecontrol 2.7
     
  4. msierra519

    msierra519 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    10
    have you already tried fresh 2.0d?

    any particular reason why you choose damagecontrol instead?
     
  5. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    4
  6. davec1234

    davec1234 Guest

  7. brandonpaz

    brandonpaz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    4
    I did update to 2.08 from 2.07, I have only used it for a few hours, but I noticed a few things appear to be snappier. The biggest change for me was the keyboard. It appears to have no lag at all.

    Gl, and let me know if you have any other questions.

    Brandon
     
  8. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    i hate the keyboard on the DC 2.08 ROM....I prefer the stock keyboard...easier, faster...
     
  9. davec1234

    davec1234 Guest

    Thanks for the info.
    I'll probably have at it after I receive my new sd card.
    I want to partition the card and then flash the ROM.
     

Share This Page

Loading...