I can root 2.1 OTA right? RIGHT?


Last Updated:

  1. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    12
    I realize I'm beating a dead horse here, but I am really confused. I've went to the root forums or the Eris, but I can't find a definitive answer. All I want to do is simply root my Eris with OTA 2.1. Can anyone help me out possibly? Links? Do I have to roll back to 1.5?

    Please help!



    EDIT: Now I realize why it didn't work... my replacement Eris I got today is apparently a v3 leak. HBOOT 1.49.0000. That pisses me off.
     

    Advertisement
  2. SyDTRaKKeD

    SyDTRaKKeD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    23
    it is possible that you just got a leaked refurb...

    however... it might not necessarily be a v3 leak... i think i heard that Verizon is just using 1.49 now to prevent rooting... (anyone feel free to correct me if i'm wrong)
     
    ThorSkaagi likes this.
  3. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    12
    That's incredibly smart of them, should that be the case.

    I know it sounds dumb, but the ONLY reason I wanted to root in the first place was so I could have the white notification bar like stock Android OS's. I hate the black one so much!
     
  4. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    so you can root on 2.1 ota? or no?
     
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,662
    Likes Received:
    22,012
    Yes, if you truly received the OTA (i.e., were 1.5 --> 2.1 via OTA).
     
  6. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    yea thats what i did. so i can?
     
  7. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    If the phone is more than a month old or so, and the only software upgrades that have taken place over its life have been OTA updates, then YES.

    And the same methods for rooting that worked with 1.5 work in exactly the same way for these OTA-2.1 phones.

    Note that the OP did not have an OTA-2.1 phone; he had one that recently came from the "factory".
     
  8. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,662
    Likes Received:
    22,012
    Yep. If you were 1.5 and accepted the OTA, your HBOOT bootloader should still accept root. Following the http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/53963-guide-stock-1-5-latest-root-2-1-a.html also works for 2.1 OTA receivers just like it did for original 1.5-ers (like me :)).

    Also, if you are going to take this journey, make sure you read through the posts and processes very carefully and that follow the instructions very carefully, especially making sure to check that the ROMs that you are downloading and installing are the correct ones (i.e., check the MD5 sums very carefully as erisuser1 strongly suggests :D)--because you don't want to end-up accidentally installing a leak ROM.

    erisuser1 has also posted many replies to folks going through the root process. His posts are an excellent source of information and walkthroughs for going through this (wish I had seen them when I was rooting ;)).

    Good luck!
     
  9. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yeah, I saw the lady pull it out of the box that said 'certified like-new'.

    You think it was a refurbished leaked phone? Is it possible that I still have a v1 or v2 leak installed?
     
  10. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yeah, delete
     
  11. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    To be honest, I don't think that's the reason. I just think that they want to sell it with 2.1 pre-installed, rather than have the user go through OTA, and the image that they use to preinstall 2.1 includes the new bootloader.
     
  12. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    57
    I think the OTA doesn't mess with the bootloader because if it did and the bootloader got messed up, you'd have no way back to unbrick the phone.

    So really if the phone got a bad OTA update you'd still be able to go into HBOOT and reflash an image file from the SD card. Not that Joe-Salesrep at the VZW store would know how to do this, but you never know.

    The new phones are probably flashed with an app that puts a fresh HBOOT on them. Probably no more dangerous than using the original image from the factory.
     

Share This Page

Loading...