I can't move Apps to SD card?Support


Last Updated:

  1. gripweed

    gripweed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    I am going to try to hard reset my Incredible in hopes it fixes a couple problems I'm seeing since getting 2.2.

    I want to back up my apps though, so I go into manage applications and pick an app, but the 'move to SD card' option is grayed out.

    Any help?



    Also, to hard reset all I have to do is from home screen touch menu-settings-privacy- factory data reset - reset phone. Or is there something I should do instead?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. DizkoDan

    DizkoDan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    86
    Only certain apps can be installed to the SD card. The developer of the app controls this, not the OS. This is not a backup mechanism, it's for performance & clearing space on the internal storage. That said, many apps will actually experience a performance drop if moved to the SD card do to the slower speeds.

    If you are looking to backup apps and data, and are not rooted, the best option in my opinion is MyBackup
     
  3. gripweed

    gripweed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    So I assume it backs up all that information onto your SD card? Or does it back it up online?
     
  4. DizkoDan

    DizkoDan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    86
    Generally, SD card, but you can pay for online backup as well. If your SD card won't format on your computer, and is truly shot, just order a new (bigger, faster) one from amazon. They are really cheap right now. I just got an 8gb class 6 card for $22. You can get a 4gb for like $5.
     
  5. thelastdraco

    thelastdraco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    12
    U can back up your apps via appbrain
     
  6. DizkoDan

    DizkoDan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    86
    It doesn't actually back anything up. It just keeps a list of your installed apps. Data/settings are not stored.
     
  7. gripweed

    gripweed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    If I don't back up, then go into the App Market after reformatting the phone, will the market still show my list of downloaded apps like it currently does? Because I don't mind redownloading them, I just don't want to write out a list of everything I have.

    And how does that work with paid ones? Does it know I've already paid?
     
  8. DizkoDan

    DizkoDan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    86
    I may be mistaken, because I never use the market directly, but I don't think it retains a list of your installed apps. appbrain does this, and this is one if it's many features. As far as paid apps go, you can re-download them any time. Google remembers that you paid for them, since it's all done through checkout. If you paid for an app outside of the market however, you would need to deal with that on it's own.
     
  9. gripweed

    gripweed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    Awesome.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  10. njperry

    njperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes, this is the only reason I use AppBrain, just so I have a list of all my apps.
     
  11. gripweed

    gripweed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    4 hours later of trouble shooting and my phone is somewhat back to normal...what a mistake it was to do that.

    Also, the market only saved a list of my purchased ones and now I can't find half the apps I used all the time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...