I can't tell if I rooted my eris?


Last Updated:

  1. unobtrusivetones

    unobtrusivetones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried rooting my eris last night I threw the PB00IMG.ZIP file on the root of the SD card and installed it. It took about 10 minutes for it to install and fully reboot and re-sign in to my google account.
    I don't have the little ninja icon in the apps drawer like I would expect and when I try to use ADB to flash the new recovery it says "su" not recognized.
    However, I was able to install set CPU 2.0 and it asked for root permission and it works and goes to the max of 528Mhz does this mean I'm rooted because Set CPU is working?

    I'm running the OTA 2.1 stock version on my eris, should I have reverted back to 1.5 then installed the PB00IMG.ZIP to give me the rooted 2.1?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    open a cmd from androidSDK/tools folder, and type "ad shell"
    and see what you get
    # means you are rooted
     
  3. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,673
    Likes Received:
    22,034
    +1 ...or you can be lazy like me (or when you don't have access to your PC and the SDK) and install "Android Terminal Emulator" (free) from the Market and type "su" just like in the above.

    You can also check your HBOOT version to see if its 1.49.2000.

    edit: P.S., HTCthebestdroid, still jealous of you testing v1.1 :D
     
    GJW419 likes this.
  4. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    I'm pretty sure HTCthebestdroid meant to say

    adb shell

    Not trying to be a grammar Nazi, just don't want the OP to be confused.

    eu1
     
    scary alien likes this.
  5. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    what is the best way to get to that cmd?
    i mean do you just get the windows cmd opened up?
    what is the process for directing it to sdk tools?
     
  6. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    woops sorry about that, I did mean "adb shell"


    and the best way to do this,
    is by going to the AndroidSDK folder, (where ever you put it)
    probably the C:/ Drive
    then click the tools folder,
    and at the top, type "cmd". (like entering a website)



    and scary alien 1.1 is great, you can basically get the same thing by using this rom, its Ivans 1.0 deodexed
    [devs, mods, cooks] [ROM] deodex version of ivanmmj Eris_Official 1.0 - xda-developers
     
    dirtmouth and scary alien like this.
  7. unobtrusivetones

    unobtrusivetones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the responses guys, When I use cmd from androidSDK/tools folder and type "adb shell" I get "device not found". My PC running Vista keeps saying no drivers installed for my phone, not sure if that matters?

    However I downloaded terminal emulator from the market on my eris and typed "su" I get the # that way. So it would seem that I'm rooted correct?

    I just want to be able to flash the new recovery image so I can flash a custom ROM. if only I could get adb to work :confused:
     
  8. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    try turning on usb debugging
    go to setting on ur phone
    then applications
    then development.
     
  9. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,673
    Likes Received:
    22,034
    Take a peek at the http://androidforums.com/all-things...oot-troubleshooting-guide-htc-droid-eris.html thread...its got some good stuff that might help you (especially regarding adb, USB / connectivity)...hopefully, there's something in there that might fix you up.

    P.S. yes, you ARE rooted :)
     
    unobtrusivetones likes this.
  10. unobtrusivetones

    unobtrusivetones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2

    Thanks for the info I loaded the HTC drivers that were recommended and Adb is now communicating with my eris :D
    http://member.america.htc.com/download/Driver/DROID_ERIS_Verizon/HTC_Sync_2.0.33.exe

    Thanks everyone
     
  11. GJW419

    GJW419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Okay, I don't get it. I rooted my device successfully. Tried the "reflash package" and it didn't work. Was stuck in "rebooting" mode for like 10 minutes. Maybe it would have worked, I'm just impatient. So, I got the "One-click root" ("ERIS ROOTER") app off the Android market, and when I rebooted as they stated I was rooted. With that said......What's the big deal? I thought I could now uninstall apps that came with my phone that I do not want/use.....but I can't.
     
  12. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Well, after you installed 1-click, did you follow the instructions to flash the root-me.zip or a custom ROM? All that the 1click really does is to install a custom Recovery image, and from there you can install the apps that you need to get root access (rootme.zip) or a custom ROM, like xtrSENSE.
     
  13. GJW419

    GJW419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yep. "rootme.zip" was the one I did. When I check to see if I'm rooted following the advice above I get a "#". When I downloaded "Juice-Defender" it says I'm rooted. Am I still missing something? (And thanks for the reply)
     
  14. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,673
    Likes Received:
    22,034
    Not sure why you would have had an extended reboot time after simply flashing the rootme.zip file unless you actually also flashed a custom ROM... You only flashed rootme.zip, right?

    It does indeed sound / look like you are rooted. However, to remove (uninstall) app that came with your phone will require a bit more than just trying to un-install the via Settings -> Manage applications for example.

    The way you actually have to go about this would be to:

    1. First, make a Nandroid backup via custom recovery. This will protect you in case you remove something that you should not have.

    2. To remove apps from the phone, you would "normally" (old school) have to remount your /system partition as read/write so that you can actually delete the apps that you don't want to use. There are better ways / tools for doing this nowadays, like using Root Explorer or Titanium Backup (paid versions, I believe) to "freeze" un-wanted apps. The "freeze" actually simply removes the execute permissions from the apps to keep them from launching and it will do the remount for you. I haven't personally done this myself, but you'd be better off researching these methods than trying to remove them "old school" (i.e., using the Android SDK and the adb.exe client). I would also caution you that you must be very careful to not remove the wrong app or you could goober your system (however, that's where your Nandroid backup comes into play).

    I'm a bit pressed for time at the moment and cannot provide you with the threads regarding which apps are safe to delete, but you could search for the thread titled "unwanted apps" (I believe that's correct) and then also research Root Explorer and/or similar tools for "freezing" apps on your phone -- a much easier and safer way of doing these things.

    Hope this helps.

    Cheers!
     
    GJW419 likes this.
  15. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,673
    Likes Received:
    22,034
    By the way, here's the thread I mentioned before: http://androidforums.com/eris-all-things-root/53646-unwanted-apps.html

    Its a little dated, but is one of the oldest Eris-related threads regarding which apps are considered safe to delete.

    I still would advocate using the "freeze" method since its simpler and safer to "fix" (thaw) them afterwards should you need to.

    Also, remember to make/take a good Nandroid backup from custom recovery before deleting any apps.

    Cheers!
     
    GJW419 likes this.
  16. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Once you have root, I think that the easiest way to remove apps is to use the app Titanium Backup for Root. Once you install it and let it scan your system, you can tap on the Backup/Restore, pick the apps that you want to remove (using the list scary alien showed you above), and you can tap the "Un-install!" button.

    One note, though - the first time that you run Titanium Backup you may notice that there is a button that says "Problems?" on the bottom. I'd tap that to install busybox, or at least install the most updated version of it. It should restart after the install is complete.
     
    GJW419 likes this.
  17. GJW419

    GJW419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am indeed rooted. I check the SU and get a "#". I have the Ninja man now asking me permission LOL. And my AVG antivirus is red flagging everything so I am fixing that also. You are right, I was trying to uninstall using the customary method. I will now try everything you mentioned. This is my first Smartphone, I'm coming off a Samsung Reality. I plan on reading all these "root" threads to learn as much as I can. I thank you for your time and assistance!!!!! Much success to you!


    Actually, one last thing. Since I am now rooted, do you (or anyone) even recommend an antivirus app for my phone? If so, which? I currently use AVG.
     
  18. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,673
    Likes Received:
    22,034
    You are most welcome! Congrats on being rooted!

    Haven't ever used an anti-virus app on either of my phones...this doesn't seem to be too much of a problem at the moment...I'm sure at some point in the future it might be.

    I tend to only download apps that look like they've been downloaded and installed by a lot of folks and only from the main Android Market. Although I must admit to having installed .apk files from xda-developers.com, but there I'm usually debugging an app for someone whose thread I am following.

    Getting your apps from "3rd party" sites can be risky... You should pay attention to the permissions that are asked for...if they don't seem to fix the app's purpose or are not adequately explained by the developer in the app's notes, then don't download.

    Cheers!
     
    GJW419 likes this.
  19. GJW419

    GJW419 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Uninstalled AVG. Seems it might be more of a hassle than a benefit right now. I don't plan on installing ANY apps not in the main Android and have already followed the sound advice you just gave so I don't think I will have any problem. Thanks again!!!!! Viva La Root-a-lution!! (I just made that up, heh.)
     
  20. zooyorkdanny

    zooyorkdanny New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so i rooted my droid eris using the eris 1 click root and i downloaded the terminal emulator and typed "su" and i get the # so im rooted but now my question is could someone tell me what all i can do with my rooted eris its the first time i've ever rooted my phone also my first smartphone i know i sound stupid but i just need help thanks :)

    P.S. [ROM] Eris_Official 1.0 Alpha With Controllable Overclocking! [5/9/2010] - xda-developers how do i put this custom rom on my rooted eris?? Since i rooted my phone through the 1 click root could someone just inform how to haha much thanks
     
  21. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Ivan's is pretty old school these days, and is missing the changes in the July 2010 and March 2011 updates. I think xtrSENSE is a better bet.

    What can you do? Read this: Can someone point out the benifit's of rooting my phone? - Android Forums That's a start.

    For how, read through the Eris Root for Dummies thread. The meat for hpw to install a ROM is in the fourth post. You are already rooted, so you can skip the gscript steps in the first three posts, but the fourth will tell you what you need to know to get xtrSENSE on your phone.
     
  22. zooyorkdanny

    zooyorkdanny New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks a lot I'm gonna check all that out right now but earlier today i decided to check what the hboot said and mine shows 1.47.0000 a rooted hboot says 1.49.2000 so im confused on the state of my android it does show the # when i use terminal emulator and type "su" but the hboot shows 1.47.0000 so could you please shed some light on this for me much thanks
     
  23. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    It's not necessarily true that a rooted Eris has a version 1.49.2000 S-OFF bootloader. With the one-click or Root For Dummies (or Unrevoked), the Eris can get root without changing the locked bootloader (which will be usually version 1.47.0000 S-ON or 1.49.0000 S-ON).

    If you see the "#" prompt after typing "SU" at a terminal, you have root.
     
  24. zooyorkdanny

    zooyorkdanny New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thank you so much i was so in the dark and confused for a minute but thank you for all the help I'm now confident enough to try to install a custom rom after reading the info you posted if i run into anymore roadblocks or problems I'll turn to this forum or to you but until then if there is a "then" which there probably will be haha I'm gonna try to install a custom rom again thank you very much!!!


    P.S. one more question i haven't wipe the phone to factory default or created a nanbackup yet but if i do this will i lose all my personal stuff like pics, vids, music, etc... im not sure if the back up backs up this stuff too or not so should i create a back up of all this on my computer?? thanks
     
  25. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,621
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Pictures, music videos - that stuff is stored on your SD card. When you choose "wipe data/factory reset", it does *not* wipe anything on your SD card. Also, a Nandroid backup will not back those items up - it only backs up the internal storage partitions of the phone, which are the ones that you, as a user, cannot directly access.

    So, you should Nandroid backup, just in case something goes wrong and you need to go back. Data wipe will not wipe your SD card, but I would still back up those items anyway - it won't hurt to have backups.

    Good luck.
     

Share This Page

Loading...