I don't believe that the Droid Eris can be updatedGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. MissionCommander

    MissionCommander Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    After several attempts to update my Droid Eris to 2.1, i have concluded that everyone who says that they have updated their hardware is completely full of shit... lol Naw really I'm sure they have done so but for some odd reason I haven't been able to.
     

    Advertisement
  2. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    What is the problem?
     
  3. MissionCommander

    MissionCommander Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont where to start. I have downloaded the file. Placed it on the lowest level and have followed all of the instructions. When i power up its keep reading: no image every line. It never gives me the option to update.
     
  4. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    You haven't unzipped the file right? Which buttons are you using to reset the phone? What size is the file?
     
  5. MissionCommander

    MissionCommander Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I havent unzipped it. Oh, but it does say invalid file when I click on it. Maybe its the file because I'm sure I'm pressing the right buttons: volume down and the power/end call button, right? I also have checked the file and it is 108,854,573 bytes. So, i dont know what it could be besides it being the wrong file.
     
  6. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    You might try deleting the one you have and downloading it again. Make sure the new file doesn't have a (2) at the end and try again.
     
  7. korben dallas

    korben dallas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've done it several times, I download it using my phone. You just need to move it from download folder to sdcard folder using astro.
     
  8. T2noob

    T2noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    98
    Try Formating your sd card a few people were having this problem and when they formatted it worked like a charm.
     
  9. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    I used an old sd card to install it that had nothing on it maybe try that . Also when I updated from v1 to v2 I didn't think it was working took a lot longer then the first leak to actually give me any options maybe upwards of 10minutes .
     
  10. Morkai Almandragon

    Morkai Almandragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    what format options should be used on the SD card?
     
  11. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    I didn't format my card at all, just deleted everything off of it , put it in my computer put the zip file on it. Put it in my phone and when it was all installed and updated I put my old sd card with all my stuff back in the phone.
     
  12. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    I'm sure you're doing it right, you're probably just using the wrong terminology, but I wanted to be sure. You need to place the file on the HIGHEST level, not the lowest. Don't put it in any folders, just put it right on the SD card on the top level.
     
  13. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    I downloaded the zip file to my desktop then dragged it over to the sd card folder (after everything else was deleted from the sd card). It took a minute or so for it to copy over to the sd card folder.

    Real simple after that.
     
  14. BOMBO

    BOMBO Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    7
    reformat the card from your phone. Load the .zip back on and it will work.
     
  15. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    Wait, what are you "clicking on"?
     
  16. LiverpoolsNo9

    LiverpoolsNo9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    32
    No you are right. Its an elaborate april fools trick that the entire eris community has spent months colluding on, just for you. ;)
     
  17. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    This sounds like you were on the right track. If I rem correctly, it says no image and on the right, there should be a blue progress bar, slowly moving upwards. Do you see that? And like after 2-3mins, give you the options that are said in the guide. Or you get none of this? When I first did it, I wasnt patient enough and thought it wasnt working for me either.
     
  18. Hipshot

    Hipshot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    27
    I just followed the kid in the video, While the directions were a bit off from the new leak, they were close enough to follow. Went smooth

    I did not wipe my sd card. and I did notice it wiped off all the apps & contacts I had installed. No biggie though. I had the contacts backed up at least. :rolleyes:
     
  19. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    Just remember all the apps that you have bought are still yours andwhen you goto the marketplace you can download them for free. They will say "purchused" next to them
     

Share This Page

Loading...