I don't get the superuser permission app ?


Last Updated:

  1. Jeroentjee

    Jeroentjee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey peeps,

    I updated my HTC hero into the official 2.0 (?) update and i just wanted to use some custom rom when i noticed i couldn't get into the screen where you can do nan backups and flash zips. So i'm not rooted anymore -_-.
    Now i tried rooting my phone again with Root your HTC Hero CDMA Stock Android 2.1 | Gadgets DNA
    That link and i was going pretty good till the superuser permission part. I didn't received it on my HTC Hero and I tried doing it over again and over again and it just doesn't come in my app list :(... Hopefully someone knows the answer...

    Greetz

    J
     

    Advertisement
  2. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    First things first, you are in the GSM forum but linking to a CDMA root guide. Which is it?

    Accessing the custom recovery partition (Home + On) has nothing to do with root. What root does is give you write access to your system files from within Android.

    So if you could let us know which phone you have we can point you in the right direction.
     
  3. Jeroentjee

    Jeroentjee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah that was something i didnt get too... How can i know what I have (the GSM/CDMA thing). What does it really mean ?
     
  4. walkinhotdog

    walkinhotdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    What carrier do you use? Sprint-CDMA, pretty much everything else-GSM. You can also google htc hero gsm and cdma to look at the pic. The cdma version is more rounded at the bottom and has no chin
     
  5. Jeroentjee

    Jeroentjee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine has a chin and is pretty squar at the bottom so i guess it's GSM ! I hope you guys can provide a good guidd for the GSM... I tried the method where you need Flashrec but that doesn't work :S...
     
  6. walkinhotdog

    walkinhotdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    Assuming you dont need to goldcard, you can use the "how to root + install custom rom + backup" sticky thread on here. I used the "complete newbie guide to install a custom rom" over on the xda htc hero forum in the android development section. Follow steps 1-2 and apps2sd (most custom roms have the latest radio alrdy). The method i used took less than 30 mins and was easy enough that someone without any knowledge of android was able to do it
     
  7. Jeroentjee

    Jeroentjee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    That guid needs SU as i quote :

    Also...You need to enable USB debugging in order for the SU permission app to work..
    To do this..click Menu,Settings, Applications, Development & Click on USB Debugging (Make sure the box is ticked)

    So it doesn't work for me as i can't get the SU application to appear on my app list.
     
  8. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,484
    No, USB Debugging has to be enabled for Superuser Permissions to work when it is installed by InstantRoot.
     
  9. Jeroentjee

    Jeroentjee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    I enabled that... That's the strange part.
     
  10. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Well, the problem is when you install an official update it wipes everything you've done, including root access, the SU permissions app and the custom recovery menu.

    As previously mentioned root access and the recovery menu are two seperate things. At the moment you can't root the official 2.1 firmware, but you can switch from the official 2.1 to custom firmware (which comes pre-rooted for you).

    You can switch to custom firmware using this method, or by making a goldcard and downgrading (covered in sveral guides in this section).

    And don't ever follow any Sprint/CDMA guides; you can brick your phone.
     
  11. Jeroentjee

    Jeroentjee Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    eventually i have to work with Super user again and that's not going to work... That's the problem :(.
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    You do not need the SU app or even root access to put a custom ROM on a hero.

    Follow any of the guides at the top of this forum and they will essentially follow this format:

    -Instantroot.apk and the SU app
    -Goldcard making
    -Downgrading
    -Flashrec
    -Flashing the new ROM

    But, the first step of rooting your current ROM is only necessary if you want to use titanium backup to backup your apps. You can use the 30 day free tiral of MyBackup Pro to achieve the same thing but without root access. So skip straight to making a goldcard.
     

Share This Page

Loading...