I guess I have to return it :(


Last Updated:

  1. rmmorse81

    rmmorse81 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    So I get the Nexus One yesterday.

    Works great at home. 3g is fast. No problems


    Then I get to work this morning and it keeps dropping signal. I had previously checked the T-Mobile coverage map and I am supposed to be in the best possible area.

    Guess not.

    So I guess its back to the Hero on Sprint.

    What a tease
     

    Advertisement
  2. sooper_droid12

    sooper_droid12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    73
    Welcome to having an awesome phone on a crappy network. You can empathize with the iPhone guys.
     
  3. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    Call T-mobile customer service and open a "service request". I had the same thing in a few-mile radius and had 3 requests opened for the area. Within days I have perfect signal with 3G now (was weak and only GPRS, not even EDGE). Tell them to check the address on their coverage map and they'll help you out... Does it work outside or is it the same?
     
  4. gibson6594

    gibson6594 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    This issue could possible be resolved via a software update we all hope is coming soon. Check out the 3G issues thread.
     
  5. chaoscentral

    chaoscentral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    91
    Actually this has been proven to be a software issue there buddy... Multiple people have tested with a G1 or MyTouch right next to the Nexus, and the G1 and MyTouch have full constant 3G while the Nexus switches back and forth to Edge.

    Perhaps do a little research there next time, before bad mouthing T-Mobile where it clearly is a software issue, eh pal?
     
  6. rmmorse81

    rmmorse81 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    Nah this isnt a 3g problem... its constant no singal to 1 or 2 bars. So even though the map says im in the best area...


    well..

    guess not :(
     
  7. rmmorse81

    rmmorse81 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10

    Its the same outside. Very weak signal and the 3g icon is still there. No edge shows up. Fishy.

    The T-Mobile guy said there is a tower down about 8 miles from my location. But he said i should be picking up from a closer tower (Though its possible it could be affecting me still).

    Maybe I will give it till tomorrow
     
  8. jesseshangout

    jesseshangout Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reception problems aside, this is the best phone I've owned...and I've owned a lot. I am optimistic that the reception problem will be fixed with a software upgrade very soon. Bought every iphone on launch day and every one had issues. I'm keeping mine.
     
  9. sooper_droid12

    sooper_droid12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    73
    And what research did you do genius? How are you sure that it's DEFINITIVELY and CLEARLY a software issue? Enlighten me. From what I read, it wasn't even an entirely empirical or scientific method which came to the "software" conclusion. As a matter of fact, there are several possible hypotheses for why the phone can't pick up the 3G signal, NOT related to software. It could be an internal radio situation (hardware) or something completely different. Software is a possibility, but it isn't definitive.

    In other words, one user who walked in and out of his house isn't definitive evidence that it's software. 2.1 wasn't a revolutionary design of an OS and is based heavily off of 2.0.1. That being said, why would it handle 3G signals any different than other 2.x devices, i.e. the DROID which doesn't have the same issue?

    So, before you tout having "done your research," the fact of the matter is, it is still ENTIRELY possible that there's a dead-zone even where T-Mo thinks they have coverage. Even if the T-Mo map says covered in that area, his workplace may actually be a dead zone. at&t said my house had coverage for voice... guess what? Dead zone, that's why I'm with VZW.
     
  10. jesseshangout

    jesseshangout Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Angry, huh? Did you get your Verizon bill today?
     
  11. sooper_droid12

    sooper_droid12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    73
    Last week, but it wasn't too bad. $100 for both my phone and my wife's. I get a bunch of discounts ;)
     
  12. jesseshangout

    jesseshangout Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome for 2 Droids. My wife and I "test drove" two droids and our bill was $200. I quickly returned them to best buy and bought the Nexus one for both of us and switched to T-Mobile.
     
  13. iPhoneMilk

    iPhoneMilk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    5

    Did you not read what he said? he told you what research he did... i mean.. i read it.. am i the only one who caught that?

    He said that he put the Nexus one right next to a G1 and a Mytouch and they had full 3G bars where the nexus one did not.

    i mean... did you not read that part?

    oh oh oh i get it..

    MAYYYBE logically mayyyybbbeeee he was standing RIGHT on the T mobile coverage line, and in his left hand the Nexus one was outside of the coverage line and in the right hand the G1 was inside.. maybe he should have stepped one step to the right? would have been more accurate "research"
     
  14. oniongirl

    oniongirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    9
    well, without adding fuel to the fire, I think hardware and software are equally plausible at this moment in time. Could be software, poorly written code deciding whether to use 3G or not, or could be hardware, not being able to pick up the signal. No one knows. It's that simple.

    However, if it is hardware, we will all be covered under warranty, so it's still fixable.
     
  15. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    292

    This seems to be an actual Nexus problem that concerns the radio/antenna.

    TMO has already acknowledged it and is currently working on a fix.

    http://www.tmonews.com/2010/01/t-mobile-acknowledges-nexus-one-3g-problem/
     
  16. wonderbread

    wonderbread Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    297
    What exactly is the return policy for the Nexus One... is there one that doesn't involve an ETF?
     
  17. rmmorse81

    rmmorse81 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    It is 30 days in California (luckily I live here). 14 days everywhere else.

    Google requires a $45 restocking fee. BS since I had it for less then a day and it doesn't work on CrapMobile. (I live in SoCal so this shouldnt have been an issue).

    The HTC rep said I could try packing it really really nicely and wiping the phone. But Im pretty sure Google will charge me the $45. Oh well. it was on the agreement when I bought it.

    Maybe Ill be back when its released on Verizon.

    I will tell you.. I actually missed the HTC Sense UI from my Sprint Hero. (Particularly the messaging, calendar, twitter, and bookmark widget)

    However, I wish it would have worked out for me. The phone is sweet
     

Share This Page

Loading...