I Hate You Froyo 2.2Support


Last Updated:

  1. RWCouck

    RWCouck Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay this is the worst thing that has happened to my phone. Here are the problems, hoping someone else is having the same and Im not alone.

    -Phone is lagging
    -Phone resets itself
    -SMS doesnt work for S**t
    -Random programs will open for no reason
    -Battery Life is down to 5 hours

    Seriously what the hell
     

    Advertisement
  2. kylebarendrick

    kylebarendrick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    29
    I've had a couple of resets and swype is buggy. I've unistalled/reinstalled swype a few times and eventually just removed it. I'm waiting to see if that makes the phone reset problem go away. If it doesn't, I'll probably do a factory reset and root once unrevoked gets root for 2.2 working.
     
  3. ethandt

    ethandt Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only problem I have noticed is with the camera. It is much slower now after the update... very annoying. I have seen an increase in battery life.
     
  4. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    Like ANY other software upgrade, it is safer to start with a clean slate.

    I REALLY recommend you do a factory reset of your phone, before giving up on 2.2

    Yes you will have to reload your apps but the gain far out weighs the annoyance.

    to the other poster, swype is working great for me. (I re-installed from the beta website)
     
    Mr. Link, elwray, Twiz and 2 others like this.
  5. bassdelux15

    bassdelux15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    7
    My phone has been fine since the update last night. Everything on it works fine. Youtube is faster now and i have flash 10.1, no complaints. My battery is the same tho, even if i'm not using a task killer.
     
  6. Mizmimi

    Mizmimi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    25
    I did a complete reset to factory, and my phone is running perfect. I haven't had any reboots and swype is running like clock work. I also suggest doing a reset. It's a pain to reinstall everything, but it really worked for me. Battery life has improved slightly, nothing to write home about but I'll take it. :)
     
  7. Mage54

    Mage54 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you factory reset and not lose FroYo? Is there like a guide? Or does FroYo automatically come back?
     
  8. Mizmimi

    Mizmimi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    25
    Once you get froyo and download it, you have it. You will not lose it doing a factory reset. I was a bit leary at first, but when you go to reset it, it clearly tells you it will retain your software. :)
     
  9. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    Do a factory reset.

    This is why I just installed the RUU myself instead of waiting for the OTA. The RUU wipes your phone and then installs 2.2. I am bug free ;)
     
    kshack likes this.
  10. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    +1

    It has been said over and over but this deserves repeating!

    Factory Restores seem to be addressing many issues people are having since the OTA update.

    First thing I did this morning at 6:15 when the update hit my phone was to Factory Restore!
     
  11. secretLOVER

    secretLOVER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    140
    Factory reset:

    Turn the power off. If your HTC DROID Incredible is frozen, pull the battery out and reinsert it
    Hold the Volume Down button
    Hold the Power button until the display turns on
    You are now presented with a menu that allows for Fastbook, Recovery, Clear Storage, and Simlock
    Select Clear Storage by pressing the Volume Down button
    Press and release the Power button to select
    Now simply confirm your decision: Volume Up for YES and Volume Down for NO
     
    kshack likes this.
  12. Mizmimi

    Mizmimi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    25
    I also noticed that it took restarting my phone a couple of times before everything leveled out.
     
  13. Darebrokenheart

    Darebrokenheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    9
    I agree with you 100%. I did a factory reset and my phone runs smoothly with froyo. I might have to do it again because launcherpro seems to lagg and not smooth consistently. Also I can't sync my phone to my hotmail account. I guess they have forgotten that option of adding those accounts(yahoo, hotmail). But other than that I'm luvin it. The battery life has improved but it's nothing to brag about cuz my lg dare can go for almost a week without charging.

    Doing a factory reset is safe as long as you backed up all what you needed backed up. The reset will only delete what you have added to the phone and bring it back to its original state when it was first used. Mizmimi is right about reinstalling the apps. It takes a while to install cuz the phone install apps one at a time which sucks.:confused:
     
  14. DaisyLab

    DaisyLab Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for this. Once complete, I will have to go back to app brain and reinstall all my apps, correct?
     
  15. jski711

    jski711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    9
    Is there an easy way to save a list of apps so after you reset you can easily re download them? Also does it clean out your SD card. Thanks.
     
  16. Bundy

    Bundy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    44
    I think I like everything about Froyo, but my battery life has taken a beating even after a factory reset. I can't seem to figure out the problem, but something is running as my uptime climbs even when the phone is locked/sleeping, which never happened with 2.1 (same apps).

    Anyone know the best/easiest/most reliable way of deterrmining what app is runnng?
     
  17. secretLOVER

    secretLOVER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    140
    You're welcome.

    For some reason, which im searching for the answer now, only my purchased apps came up. Make sure you sync your contacts as well thru back up assistant. (Menu.settings.accounts&sync.sync all)

    EDIT: LET ME BE MORE SPECIFIC
    only my purchased apps came up in "my apps". Everything was still within appbrain. Just not easily accessable.
     
  18. Darebrokenheart

    Darebrokenheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    9
    To avoid any risks I suggest you to take the card out. That's what I did. Though I've heard on here the card won't be affected I asked myself "why take the risk?".
     
  19. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    Yes deff, although i have noticed that some of my apps are not on my appbrain list (just a couple).
    Question, will my sd card be safe when i factory reset? Got way too much stuff on it to let it get wiped.
     
  20. Darebrokenheart

    Darebrokenheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    9
    That has happened to me also but I purchased Launcher Pro and it's not showing up on the market in my downloads section as well. I'm not worried. It's backed up on my sd card.
     
  21. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    Sync with appbrain, it should save your entire list
    Batteryleft widget has a partial wake usage meter. Also has other great options, will look for link to great thread by necosino about it
    Here it is
    http://androidforums.com/incredible-tips-tricks/108994-best-battery-widget-out-there.html
     
    Bundy likes this.
  22. jayochs

    jayochs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    89
    sigh. yet again, just like with the Eris, everybody here is preaching factory reset. i did a factory reset too, and it made no difference whatsoever.
     
  23. jski711

    jski711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    9
    What exactly does synching all your accounts do using the back up manager. I'm still new to this Android system.
     
  24. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    When you sync with appbrain it will save your list of apps. After you sync contacts, calendar w/ google your all set.

    Don't need the back-up manager IMO. List of apps and contacts backed up is all i personally care about.
     
    jski711 likes this.
  25. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    Yes as long as you choose "phone only" when you reset.

    One of the things I have noticed with App brain is that when I login to the website and I look at the left side of the screen it shows "your app lists".

    I have three options:

    1. Apps on ADR6300
    2. Apps on HTC Droid Incredible
    3. Apps on Phone

    Now I have not figured out why App brain has created three lists of my apps, but I can only imagine it has something to do with how I am syncing them.

    This morning was a PIA trying to reload my apps after my update and factory reset so I just opened it on my PC and downloaded apps straight from the market on my phone using the list on the website as a guide! ;)

    I was amazed at how many Apps I decided I really could care less about.

    I will look into it further!
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...