I have 2.1 OTA - Can I root?


Last Updated:

  1. Carreno

    Carreno Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I recently installed the 2.1 OTA. Its nice, but not as fast as I would like it to be. I want to root so I may take advantage of overclocking.

    I've searched the forums and have come across instructions on rooting from 1.5 to 2.1 - But nothing about rooting if I have the 2.1 OTA.

    There are those who say its possible, and those who say it is not.

    Whats the truth? And where are some good instructions? And whats a killer rom to use?

    Thanks all!
     

    Advertisement
  2. LiverpoolsNo9

    LiverpoolsNo9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    32
    There is actually a thread about this on the first couple of pages. http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/78619-went-1-5-ota-you-can-still-root-not-leakers.html

    You can root, so go for it.
     
  3. char561

    char561 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes you can root.
     
  4. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    15
    yup, you can root, i did from the OTA also.
     
  5. Mechmess

    Mechmess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    This really confuses me.... I thought that its been proven that the OTA and v3 are the same image? Wouldn't this mean that it is then possible to root from 2.1v3?? Im getting so jealous of the people who did not leak... sigh... Why must I be on the cutting edge!?
     
  6. char561

    char561 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    the actual rom and software are the same, the bootloader however is different and a newer version thus making it so you cant install the rooted image
     
  7. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    when you flashed the PB00IMG.zip did you still have 2.1 or did it roll you back to 1.5? I just downloaded from the root guide page and flashed the zip from step one of the process. I still have 2.1, terminal emulator says gives me a # sign, but I'm having problems with recovery image. Rom Manager says its having permission issues, and I can't get adb to work either to flash aman's img. I'm stuck it seems.
     
  8. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    when you flashed the PB00IMG.zip did you still have 2.1 or did it roll you back to 1.5? I just downloaded from the root guide page and flashed the zip from step one of the process. I still have 2.1, terminal emulator says gives me a # sign, but I'm having problems with recovery image. Rom Manager says its having permission issues, and I can't get adb to work either to flash aman's img. I'm stuck it seems.
     
  9. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    Every time I enter an adb command, it says adb not found. If anybody could please give me some things to check to ensure I'm set up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...