i have a few questions, new to android, sprint htc hero

Last Updated:

1. tailsthecat

tailsthecat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

hi! what are some essential apps i should download/buy? what is the best task killer? how do i put music on my hero, is it the same method as ringtones/notifications? is there any way to free system memory for example, can i in any way delete/uninstall preloaded apps like gmail, sprint mobile nfl live, peep, etc., etc.??
    i appreciate any advice/links/secrets. im new to android and am loving my htc hero so far.
    also, i installed advanced task killer free by rechild. is the $4.99 pro version better in any way??
    thank you very much for your time...and patience.

Advertisement
  2. Jaffa

Jaffa Well-Known Member

Theres a usefull hints and tips thread at the top. lists apps you need etc.

MP3s Plug in USB drag down notification slider and mount your usb then drag and drop mp3s into the MP3 folder, if there sint one make one..

Uninstalling stuff, I use quick uninstaller its free on the market

There are differing opinions on task killers, search and read is my advice.

3. tailsthecat

has quick uninstaller allowed you to remove the stock or preloaded apps? it warned me it may not be able to and i cancelled it.

4. Jaffa

Jaffa Well-Known Member

If thats the case you cant remove them unless you root the phone

5. barnacles

barnacles Well-Known Member

Jaffa pretty much covered it. No you cannot delete pre installed apps.. I don't use a taskkiller anymore. After not using one for a while, I really noticed no difference. Task killers are good if apps become unresponsive or lock and you need to force close. Otherwise from what I've read, they can potentially do more harm than good. The android OS is pretty good at managing tasks. There is a thread somewhere on here about that very issue.

and welcome. :)

6. tailsthecat