i have a question


Last Updated:

  1. AKlawyerboy

    AKlawyerboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    so im looking into getting a nexus one. and i heard that i could use the nexus one as a wifi router for up to 8 devices or i could connect it by a cable to a computer. is this true?
     

    Advertisement
  2. AKlawyerboy

    AKlawyerboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    does anyone know?
     
  3. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
    Yes FroYo (newest iteration of the Android OS, 2.2, Nexus already has a beta version, official version coming soon) has a WiFi hotspot feature which can tether up to 8 devices. I heard carriers can turn this feature off but since it is not purchased from a carrier, I do not think they have the control to.

    There are also two programs that can do this on 2.1 called Barnacle WiFi Tether or android-wifi-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code but you need to be rooted (equivalent of jailbreaking. Superuser permissions)

    Also you can purchase apps from the market (PDANet for $30 or EasyTether for $10 which can do a wired tether connection). I know that AT&T blocks them from the market but you can purchase them through the developers site or download them online (don't think that is legal as it is a paid app but you can find it and it does work).
     
    AKlawyerboy likes this.
  4. AKlawyerboy

    AKlawyerboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, another question. if i can do the 8 device hot spot thing, does my phone have to be close to the computers? if i was out of state then thosee computers wouldnt be able to use the hotspot, correct?
     
  5. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
    From what I understand, it works similar to Verizon's MiFi so yes, the device which is connected to the WiFi from the phone does need to be close to the phone. No idea how big the range is.
     
  6. AKlawyerboy

    AKlawyerboy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    so in 2.2 its built in... but for 2.1 u need a app/program for it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...