I have rooted...now what?


Last Updated:

  1. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    HELLO - this is my first thread:):cool:

    so, last night i spent around 30 mins rooting my hero using the guide at the unlokr , with the latest rom from htc
    but...now what - i want to have more fun :) -
    what have you guys done now that you have rooted?

    i have heard people say get gumbo kernel ( something like that??)
    but what exactly is it? - does it replace your rom ?? i tried googleing it but it all got too technical for me....and i am quite technically minded :)

    also what this about fresh 1.1? what is it :(lol

    finally.... i would download setcpu but how dangerous is it, and is it necessary to overclock ?
    thanks!!!!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. pinn

    pinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    what exactly is a modaco rom?
     
  4. pinn

    pinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's a custom rom for the phone, have a look at the sticky
     
  5. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    ok, im doing this know, but i am not sure what order to do it in
    should i
    update radio > wipe > install modaco
    or should i wipe > radio > modaco?
     
  6. pinn

    pinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    I wiped, installed ROM, then installed radio. Then you should have a brand new spanky custom ROM.
    There are other flavours available, but the Modaco is the most fully featured and stable.
     
  7. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    wow, thanks for the fast reply - trying it now:)
     
  8. pinn

    pinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    He he, email notification of thread replies :)
     
  9. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    oo ok all done, radio updated and modaco installed
    much faster !
     
  10. pinn

    pinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cool, have fun!
     
  11. snaatje

    snaatje Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe a stupid question but can you do this on your phone or has to do it first on your pc. I have a mac and `htc doesnt support mac.
     
  12. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    can be done all on you phone, you only need to have a pc/mac to copt over the zip / apk files
     
  13. snaatje

    snaatje Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean which files do I have to copy or is that obvious when you see it?
     
  14. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
  15. snaatje

    snaatje Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks so much I will give a try have a nice weekend
     
  16. 3rd-Geer

    3rd-Geer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,390
    Likes Received:
    16,500
    See the sticky here. Your only options, if you're on a MAC, are to either "borrow" the use of a PC running Windows or use a recovery image to install via one of the update.zip packages found here.
     
  18. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    yeah install the reocvery image using the tutorial, and get an update.zip
     
  19. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,390
    Likes Received:
    16,500
    Depending on the existing ROM, it might not even be necessary to flash the recovery. With 1.76.xxx.xx it was possible to "fastboot boot recovery.img" and install the update.zip.
     

Share This Page

Loading...