• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help I have some questions about installing CM7/9

GAMESHARQ

Android Enthusiast
Nov 28, 2010
Back when they were having the Touchpad fire sale at Best Buy, I got one for my mother and one for my sister.

I'm thinking of installing CM7 or 9 on one of them to try it out. I've never done anything like this before so I have some questions.

1. What is the difference between CM7, 9, and 10? Is one better than the other? Which one works best?

2. In the guides at the top of this board, it mentions "to update or repair CM7/9..." Why would I need to update or repair it? Will it eventually stop working and need to be repaired? And what does updating it do?

3. Is it easy enough for someone who has never done it before to do just by following the step by step instructions in the guides? And how long does it take from start to finish?

4. Will it have full access to the Android app store? And is paying for apps any different than if I had a normal Android tablet?

Wow, lots of questions.:D

CM10 is better and faster than any of the others and the TP is quite capable hardware-wise to run any of them. The best guide I've seen can be found here and it'll install CM9 or CM10: [ROM] [03/04] How to install jcsullins CM10 Unofficial Preview Builds Edited 3/12/13 - HP Touchpad - RootzWiki

After installing, you'll have a tablet that can boot into CM or webOS, but it'll default to CM.