• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root I keep losing my Recovery image

myko14

Nov 12, 2009
CoMo
Preface: I have been flashing ROMs for 6 months or so but I will admit that I don't have a clue past what I find in this forum.

I rooted using EasyRoot. I use ROM Manager extinsively to change ROMs and occasionally use SPRecovery. I will often try to flash a ROM that will seem to load fine but then on reboot I end up with the Motorola 'M' that never advances. If I pull the battery and hold x then power up it will not go back to my recovery image. Eventually I have to go back to a computer that will recognize my device on RSD Lite and load the SPRecovery, flash the vanilla ROM to restart the system then I can download ROM Manager from the market and start over.RSD on my computer (Vista 64 bit) at home won't recognize my Droid and I have to go back to work to get my phone started again.

Any ideas on why I have this problem and how I can avoid it?

i rooted my droid with RSD Lite first off...i was having a problem with my backups from ROM Manager also...I started doing all of my backups from recovery/nandroid and since then haven't had any issues going from Backup to Backup...after a Backup i just rename them so i dont get confused...ex UD100-Chevys1.0ulow-Stable...hope that helps

Reactions: myko14
Upvote 0
I suggest only reverting to backups if something isn't working properly when you flash something new. If your wanting to test different ROMs, then I highly suggest you wipe and flash a fresh ROM.

You may be having problems because you are jumping from one nandroid backup to another.

Kratos

I usually only recover with a backup when I use a ROM for a while and don't have a current TiBu. I don't ever really bounce b/t backups.

How do I go about clearing all of the junk when I format the system/data/cache? I would like to wipe everything to get my Droid back to the state it was in after I rooted.