I love Swype, but....


Last Updated:

  1. Putty

    Putty Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    56
    It won't type bad words. Sh*t, fu*k type words. Nope wont do it. I love the app though. I can type fast as hell.
     

    Advertisement
  2. clambert1273

    clambert1273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    149
    oh joy.. glad I didn't get it llol forced censorship .. gotta love it :D
     
  3. imex99

    imex99 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your wrong about the cuss words though... It's not programmed by default but if you type each letter and then the space bar after the word it will add the word to the swype dictionary. I Just typed your two mentioned words and added them to my swype words... So it does work!
     
  4. gabbott

    gabbott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    101
    Yeah, by default they are censored but just add them to the dictionary if you so wish.
     
  5. 68Novaman

    68Novaman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    5
    I cant find swype in the market place...and handcent isnt their either? Any help how to get either?
     
  6. andyahunt

    andyahunt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1

    I can't find it either. Link anyone?
     
  7. Slacker4Life

    Slacker4Life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    96
    Handcent info is here: LINKY
     
  8. gabbott

    gabbott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    101
    Swype is technically in closed beta so isnt in the marketplace. There are links to the apks if you search around.
     
  9. skpd

    skpd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    84
    just wish SWYPE had the voice-to-text option like the stock android keyboard...it would be too perfect
     
  10. Putty

    Putty Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    56
    i didn't know about adding to the swype dictionary. trying now. one other thing. double space is not a period
     
  11. JMac202

    JMac202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    150
    swazey likes this.
  12. Putty

    Putty Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    56
    i installed handcent and took it off. I like oem better
     
  13. swazey

    swazey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    4
  14. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77
    Agreed!
     
  15. effluent

    effluent Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    45
    Quick Handcent question.. How do you keep texts from coming in on the stock messaging program as well?
     
  16. ayman86

    ayman86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    11
    open the KB, press the menu button and choose speak button.

    unless you meant like a button on the kb itself, then yeah i wish there was one
     
  17. devobail

    devobail Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    In the swype keyboard tap menu and the voice option is there, best of both worlds!
     
  18. Jadien

    Jadien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    11
    Go to "Settings" on the stock messaging app, turn all "Notifications" off.
     
  19. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77
    Only in text messaging. It is not there in gmail :(
     
  20. jbroad572

    jbroad572 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you guys ever use the landscape with skype? I prefer the regular keyboard in landscape.. wish I could alternate.
     
  21. Lord Humongous

    Lord Humongous Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i love swype too, but there arent any navigation keys. it wasnt a problem when i had my hero because i used the trackball, but every now and then i find myself wishing i had some arrow buttons as opposed to only being able to touch to move the cursor.
     
  22. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
    On the Swype keyboard, drag from the bottom leftmost key (the one with the circled-i on it) to the sym key. You will be pleasantly surprised. You might find the tutorial handy, there are lots of bells and whistles in Swype that aren't immediately obvious.

    .02

    jd
     
    leegseegs likes this.
  23. skpd

    skpd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    84
    correct :(
     
  24. cmanbrazil

    cmanbrazil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    37
    Thanks for the easy link. I tried to install it and got a block, until I allow the phone to install apps not downloaded in the market. When installed does it take over my regular keyboard, and if I don't like it is it easy to uninstall? thanks
     
  25. skpd

    skpd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    84
    you can choose between them by long pressing into the text field of you text message/email
     

Share This Page

Loading...