I love the Droid and Verizon but...


Last Updated:

  1. mrjerryk

    mrjerryk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    20
    I don't like how I can't have push email without paying for the business data plan which is $15.00 more a month. I refuse to pay $15.00 just for push email.

    Is there any way around this? I know I can set the phone to check for email every 5 - 10 minutes or what not, but that's not what push email is.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Prime

    Prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    2
    like exchange emails or gmail emails
     
  3. mrjerryk

    mrjerryk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    20
    Exchange. I know gmail is pushed almost instantly so that's not a problem there.
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Unfortunately, last time this was brought up, the only answer was either of those solutions - either set the check time low, or else pay the $15.
     
  5. mrjerryk

    mrjerryk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    20
    I didn't think there was a way. I can't believe Verizon feels they need to charge extra for exchange support.
     
  6. Legacystar

    Legacystar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    28
    Im confused, my exchange email for work gets pushed to my phone pretty much instantly.
     
  7. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    +1, ever since 2.1 push is a setting in the email program for exchange and gmail.
     
  8. pirahna

    pirahna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    12
    +2 always has sonce the day the Droid was released.
     
  9. Coogi

    Coogi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    8

    +3 Always worked for push since 2.0. Exchange set up, but even better in 2.2

    And +inf. for not having to pay for data!
     
  10. xsoulbrothax

    xsoulbrothax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Push e-mail is a function of the e-mail provider - Exchange uses Microsoft Activesync (different from the desktop app), which Android and pretty much any modern smartphone will support natively to give you push e-mail with no extra services. Gmail/Google Apps also uses Activesync, from what I've seen.

    AFAIK Verizon's 'push' email stuff is intended to give Exchange Activesync support to non-Activesync devices like feature phones - Verizon pulls a RIM and passes the e-mail directly to your phone after syncing the mail themselves. Any current Android phone won't need that.
     
  11. nader2013

    nader2013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    21
    There is a setting in gmail to display emails from, for example, your yahoo email. And if gmail pushes instantly then you should receive your yahoo emails instantly.
     
  12. Inphosys

    Inphosys Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    11
    Exchange and Microsoft ActiveSync run over port 443 (Secured HTTP otherwise known as https) ... I have the regular data plan for my Droid ... $29.99 a month? and I'm connected to my Exchange 2007 server without incident. My e-mails are instantaneous. As a matter of fact, my Droid gets new e-mails before my copy of Outlook does!

    Who told you that you had to buy a business plan ... other than the Verizon sales rep. The only time you need a business plan ($44.99) is when you are connecting a BlackBerry to an Exchange Server via a BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES) and a Good Networks Server. These two server require ports that are blocked on the $29.99 a month, unlimited data plan. But Exchange ActiveSync runs over port 443, which is NOT blocked on the $29.99 a month plan.

    If you need help, let me know. I'll be glad to walk you through the Exchange ActiveSync setup.
     
  13. Inphosys

    Inphosys Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    11
    Now, something you might be confused about is that the Motorola Droid does not support all of the Exchange ActiveSync Policies ... Such as the policy that requires you to lock your handheld and have a PIN code to unlock it (which most Exchange administrators have enabled as a policy on their exchange servers). In this event, your Exchange administrator MUST add your username as an exception to the policy rules that are on that Exchange Server ... OR ... You must install Touchdown (from the app store). Touchdown supports all of the required Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync Policies, so no exceptions will have to be made.

    I personally don't use Touchdown ... I'm the Exchange Administrator for my job, so I just added my username as an exception and BAM, it worked instantly! :) I'm also too cheap to shell out $20 for an app I don't really need. I'm happy synchronizing my Inbox, Contacts and Calendar with my Exchange Server. My Droid has synced with my server since Android 2.0. Worked even better on 2.0.1 and is working phenomenally well (no more occassional crashes of the email program) since my upgrade to 2.1.
     
  14. mrjerryk

    mrjerryk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    20
    ok. I was under the impression that you had to pay for the corporate account to be able to connect to an exchange server. This is what the Verizon rep told me anyway.

    Thanks for the info guys.
     
  15. Inphosys

    Inphosys Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yeah, he just wanted a bigger commission check.

    There's nothing Verizon can do to stop you from using Exchange ActiveSync. They can't tell the difference between that traffic and you visiting the Mobile Bank of America web site (or any other https site).
     
    mrjerryk likes this.
  16. Coogi

    Coogi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    8
    As a VZW rep, I get paid the same as if you go with the $30 or the $45 one, so either way, I am just happy you go with one. (I am an Indirect Agent so no corp here.) But it really depends on what you need to use it for, the $45 one is mostly for BB's. Other phones have no need for it.

    So dont listen to most reps, they usually only sell what they want you to have. And nothing less.
     
    mrjerryk likes this.
  17. Legacystar

    Legacystar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    28
    Does the new pin lock fufill this requirment now?
     
  18. vandyblackandgold

    vandyblackandgold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    18
    yeah, i learned a long time ago that the extra $15 was dependent on your company and not your phone or verizon. it was all about how your company had your email set up.

    when i first got a blackberry some years back, the vzw rep was trying to tell me that because i was a BB that I HAD to have the $45 data plan. so I asked what was the point of offering the $30 plan if i had to have the $45 plan. they had no answer for that after stumbling around for about 10 minutes. so after about a 20 minute discussion around this issue, i said hold on for a sec. i texted my companies IT guru something along these lines:

    "hey dude. $30 data plan or $45 plan?"

    that was all i said and he responded very quickly and basically said, "screw vzw. i set our email up specifically. $30 plan all the way"

    funny story. okay maybe not.
     
  19. BlueIce5249

    BlueIce5249 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    48
    +4 - I actually have more problems with gmail than anything else because I don't like to keep auto-sync on so my email through gmail never gets pushed.
     
  20. Bunsen Honeydew

    Bunsen Honeydew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    33
    I use K-9 and it pushes my IMAP email.
     

Share This Page

Loading...