I need help I am not a newbie but I am not an expert


Last Updated:

  1. b3ck3rj

    b3ck3rj Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently traded my droid x for a samsung fascinate. I realized while browsing through that it has been rooted. Some of the files have been hidden or frozen. Buddies now friends stream and swype. I would like to unfreeze the apps. I have super manager installed and I can see that they are still there. Beyond that I have no clue what to do
     

    Advertisement
  2. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Check to see if there is an app on the phone called Titanium Backup, I know it has a 'freeze' function. If that's what was used to freeze the apps it could be used to unfreeze (thaw?) them also.

    Or, since the phone is rooted you could flash a new ROM and start from fresh.
     
  3. b3ck3rj

    b3ck3rj Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    No titanium backup. I wish LOL. I really don't want to buy it if I don't have to. I don't know how to flash a new rom. Do I need a computer? I don't own a computer. Can a rim just be downloaded and installed?
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    there is a free version of titanium backup on the market. It will work fine for defrosting the frozen apps. Just hit the backup/restore tab then click an app you want to defrost. There will be a defrost option.
     
    b3ck3rj likes this.
  5. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    130
    You can download a Rom straight from Rom manager..but its really risky not having a computer. If something goes wrong you need to be able to communicate to ppl here so we can help you. So imo I wouldnt flash anything with out a computer to get help if I needed it
     
    b3ck3rj likes this.
  6. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    130
    I could be wrong but I dont think the free will let you freeze or defrost.. :confused:
     
    OMJ likes this.
  7. b3ck3rj

    b3ck3rj Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK I will try the free version. Thanks. Wish me luck! If it doesn't work I will be back
     
  8. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    oh you may be right. Its been a long time since I used the free version.

    After looking at the pro key description I think you are right. Not sure if you can unfreeze apps without titanium pro then.
     
  9. b3ck3rj

    b3ck3rj Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK. It says apparently can only be frozen or defrosted in paid version. Plus I do not see the frozen apps on the list here. I only see them in super manager under system folder apps
     
  10. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    130
    At this point Im stumped because they should have shown up on the free version just not been able to defrost them.. did you go all the way to the bottom of the list on titanium backup and make sure that they werent moved to the bottom?

    Why I ask is I changed Roms and when I did those had been pre-froze by the dev. Now they are at the bottom of the list crossed out.. just an idea to check out
     
  11. b3ck3rj

    b3ck3rj Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went through the whole list and did not see them. I am also stumped. How do I just get back to stock?
     
  12. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    130
    I really have no idea unless you can find a computer to use..but I'm not the expert in here. Keep checking back today if I can find one of my buddies nit or saps they are the experts they may have an idea to help better
     
  13. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    What are the actual file names? It might be that they were not actually frozen but instead renamed. A lot of people used to do things like rename TouchWiz30Launcher.apk to TouchWiz30Launcher.old or TouchWiz30Launcher.bak

    If that is the case then all you would have to do is rename the apps to have the extension of .apk
     
  14. b3ck3rj

    b3ck3rj Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need a computer again. Ahhhhhhh
     
  15. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
  16. b3ck3rj

    b3ck3rj Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. They are all renamed with the bak. I tried to rename them within super manager but it doesn't change them. Maybe I am doing it wrong. I went into files explorer. System. Apps. The whole list is there. I select file. Rename. Nothing. Its still the same
     
  17. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    ive only ever renamed with root explorer
     
  18. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    its easy to do with adb if you have that setup.

    Just do the following commands in the command prompt. Just make sure you cd to your adb tools folder first.

    adb shell
    su
    mv /system/app/TouchWiz30Launcher.bak /system/app/TouchWiz30Launcher.apk
    sync


    The same could be done on the phone with terminal emulator you would just skip the adb shell step
     
  19. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    yeah that ll work too :cool:
     
  20. zaphodbebleebrox

    zaphodbebleebrox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    18
    just use root explorer, its the word of file exploring
     
  21. b3ck3rj

    b3ck3rj Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Root explorer is a paid apparently...right?
     
  22. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    yeah...that and titanium backup are but if you are rooted they are pretty much essential :) and well worth it
     
  23. b3ck3rj

    b3ck3rj Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am afraid to get an app unless I am sure it will fix the problem.I need someone to tell me for sure that I can make these bak files go back to apk
     
  24. s44

    s44 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    37
    Sure, if you know what you're doing. For a n00b it's much easier to use Odin.

    Btw, when using Super Manager, can you see if you're mounted as rw? That's generally the issue with changes not sticking -- needs to be read-write, not read-only.
     
  25. b3ck3rj

    b3ck3rj Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get back to where I check mark read and write but it doesn't seem to do anything
     

Share This Page

Loading...