• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

I need help, wanting to root don't know where to start

hackyzac

Aug 8, 2010
OK i'm tired of my slow laggy hero, I'm in desperate need to root but with all the threads and roms and files i got a little overwhelmed.

Can anyone give me a correct link with step by step instructions with what i need to do, there seem to bee hundreds out there and i'm not sure which one i need to use.

I'm using 2.1 on my hero with build number 2.32.651.2

thanks

Start with Z4Root

OK i'm tired of my slow laggy hero, I'm in desperate need to root but with all the threads and roms and files i got a little overwhelmed.

Can anyone give me a correct link with step by step instructions with what i need to do, there seem to bee hundreds out there and i'm not sure which one i need to use.

I'm using 2.1 on my hero with build number 2.32.651.2

thanks

Upvote 0
I'm no expert on this but I would get rid of the apps you don't use download rom manager from the market and then flash the recovery image and then reboot into recovery (turn phone off hold down volume down button and then press the power button and hold till phone gets to the white htc screen then release buttons then it will come to 3 options just hit the home button and then it will hop back to the white screen and you will be in recovery mode) ok first things first do a nandroid (that's a total back up of everything on your phone apps and settings) so if something goes wrong you can always have that to fall back on (think of out as a windows restore point) aster you do your nand reboot the phone then look got the rom you want if you want sense back I would use liquid sense 2.1 that's pretty much a stock rom with no bloatware from sprint,