I need instructions to load software 2.27.651.5


Last Updated:

  1. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm ready to root and I know where to find detailed instructions. My phone has the OTA update to .6 and I need to load it to .5. I can't seem to find instructions on how to do that.

    Do I need to use HTC sync for this? I've found links for an .exe file with .5 on it so I already have that. I just don't know what to do with it to get it on my phone. If anybody has instructions that I could use, that would be great.

    Thanks a lot.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    So I played around a little with Htc sync and I see that it's not compatible with windows 7.

    any suggestions greatly needed.

    Thanks.
     
  3. Heaterz16

    Heaterz16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    Download the latest htc sync from htc's website (2.0.40). After you install that, then the drivers should be on your computer to recognize the phone.

    Run the .5 RUU and follow the on screen instructions.

    I did this and I am running Windows 7, no issues. If you get an error during first run of that file, just re-run it a 2nd time and it should work.

    Good luck.
     
    Lean23 likes this.
  4. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    try using sync version 2.0.33, worked fir me.
     
    Lean23 likes this.
  5. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    I found ver. 2.0.33 and it has a patch for windows 7 just dl'd it and getting ready to do this. Hopefully it goes smoothly.
     
  6. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok, still not getting sync to recognize my phone. Do I need USB debugging on or off for sync to work. Also, what setting do I need my phone on under: connect to pc? I tried selecting HTC Sync and that isn't working. Do I need to select "disc drive?"Not sure what to do now. I'm using ver. 2.0.33. Is there a link to version 2.0.40 somewhere? I couldn't find it on the HTC website.
     
  7. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    look at this [GUIDE] How to Root Sprint 2.1 Release for CDMA Hero - xda-developers
     
  8. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for the help andgu3. I need to get Htc sync to recognize my phone first so that I can run the ruu .5 on my phone before I can root. I'm currently not able to get it to work. I think it's a problem with windows 7.

    When I connect my phone to pc my notification bar pops up and says, "USB debugging connected- click here to disable USB debugging."
     
  9. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Do you have the correct drivers set up? Try pdanet, download from market.
     
  10. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    One more quick question:

    I uninstalled sync from my pc. I'm gonna dl it again. Do I check save as "Binary file" or save "all files?"
     
  11. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    The current version of sync is supposed to have the correct drivers.
     
  12. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I had trouble like this before too, trying to remember what I did to get it going:confused:
     
  13. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm giving up for the night. I'm gonna spend all day tomorrow trying to get this figured out.

    Funny that supposedly simplest part of the rooting process is causing the most trouble.
     
  14. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    if you are getting an error message (error 171 USB connection error) try this: once the ruu fails and your phone is sitting frozen at the htc screen, just run the ruu installer again and it should work, simple yet effective.
     
  15. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    I may know the problem.

    I have a different SD card in my phone from the one that came with the phone. So therefore, no htc sync on my card. How can I load it onto my card?
    Thanks.
     
  16. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok, I got Htc sync working. I was a simple matter of restarting my phone and it all worked.

    I am not running the ruu to get my phone on the .5 software. I had to run the installer twice and it's currently about 75% done.
     
  17. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    Update: The rom is loaded. Going to the root instructions now. Wish me luck.
     
  18. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    I AM ROOTED!!!!!! Took about 30 minutes. Now I need to find a rom to flash.....
     
  19. N8Rav

    N8Rav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having the same problem attempting to root. I also screwed myself with the .6 update. I have d/l the .5 software and is currently a .rar file on my laptop. How am I supposed to get this on to my hero?? Should it be unzipped first then added to sd card? And how exactly are you "running" it once its there?
     
  20. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    I opened up sync and then opened the .5 file and then followed the instructions that it gives. I found it as an .exe file. I think there is a link in the top thread in this forum. I'll try to find it for you.
     
  21. Lean23

    Lean23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
    If you click on the link to the "Guide" posted above, there is a link to the .5 software in post #2 of the "guide."

    I downloaded it and saved it to the desktop of my laptop.
    Next, I opened htc sync and plugged in my phone to the laptop.
    If you open the .5 software, it has instructions to load the software onto the phone. It's easy.
     
  22. onebigbaddaddy

    onebigbaddaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I am running rooted 1.5 with clockWorkMod. I want rooted 2.1, is there an easy way since Im already rooted?
     
  23. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    You are already rooted, why do you need to run the 2.1 ruu and reroot?
     
  24. onebigbaddaddy

    onebigbaddaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess I dont, just want 2.1 and all its bennies while maintaining root. So is there an aesy way? Sorry, still kind of a noob, but getting better.
     
  25. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Meh - No Bennies to 2.1 - unless you flash NFX or liquid sense - 2.1 is pretty buggy -
     

Share This Page

Loading...