I need rooting Dinc 2.2 for dummies...

Last Updated:

1. magtimmag

magtimmag Member This Topic's Starter

HI
    I'm a newbie, and, though I am really good at following instructions, I have no clue how to root my Incredible. All I want to do is turn the damn S to whatever, so I can tether my ipad for a bit. I don't want to remove anything, change anything, change a rom (I think), or the like. I just want to be able to tether for a couple weeks, while on vacation.
    Since unrEVOked 3 is down, I can access the beta. But, I need a site/thread that gives me really easy instructions on what to press and what not to press.
    So, since this is the only forum I trust, point me in the right direction, or give me a clue on the root for your parents version.
    Thanks!

Advertisement
  2. magtimmag

Oh... I am on a Mac, it that makes a difference. And.... I have enough ability to have updated my wife's eris from 1.5 to 2.1 with help from here...

3. sdrawkcab25

sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

have you tried the beta yet, from what I understand it already is for "dummies". On a mac you should just have to plug your phone in, run the program and you're done. I know the root method for 2.1 was pretty damn simple and the new one I hear is even simpler.

As for what to press and what not to press (someone correct me if I'm wrong as I haven't used the beta, only the original unrevoked3), there is only one button to press.

magtimmag likes this.
  4. magtimmag

Thanks, sdrawkcab25. Having heard from an I.T. friend, too, I am going to install the beta when I get home. Since both of you say it's disgustingly simple, with no hidden handshakes, etc, I'm going for it.
    Appreciate the reply...

5. superchaos

superchaos Well-Known Member