I need some more suggestions for my battery consumption?


Last Updated:

  1. aliveon2legs

    aliveon2legs Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    37
    First, these screen shots were taken after the battery had been fully charged 2 hours prior. I pulled it off right after the light turned green, so that isn't the issue. Also, I've already done the charge, turn off, charge, turn on, etc. thing. My light turned green almost instantly the first time I turned it off and plugged it back in.

    The screen was on 18.5% of the time during this stretch, so that's pretty heavy usage. But why would the system have been running 53.3% of the time? I wouldn't think that number would/should be much higher than the screen-on time.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    Thanks in advance.


    edit - sorry about the "?" on the thread title... slip of the fingers.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jhale83

    jhale83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    I was getting awful battery life at one point and discovered it was Facebook for HTC Sense being connected for VERY long periods of time keeping the data connection open. Removing my log in and then logging back in seems to have fixed the problem for me. Might be worth a shot for you, especially if you notice your data connection on all the time.
     
  3. aliveon2legs

    aliveon2legs Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    37
    How do I remove my login? I only have it set to sync once a day, but I suppose if it is staying connected that could certainly be a problem.
     
  4. jhale83

    jhale83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Settings > Accounts & sync > Facebook for HTC Sense > Remove Account

    Then when it takes you back to the Accounts & sync page, go ahead and click "Add Account" and add your Facebook for HTC Sense back.
     
  5. aliveon2legs

    aliveon2legs Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    37
    Thanks, I'll give it a shot.
     
  6. aliveon2legs

    aliveon2legs Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    37
    Okay, after I did that, my system has been running 39.9% of the time vs a "screen-on" % of 24.1.

    It looks like that cut the gap a little, but it still shouldn't be running that much with the screen off, should it?
     
  7. jhale83

    jhale83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Unless you've plugged it in recently that will still include all that time from before so you might just have to test it for a day to see if it continues to decrease from 39.9% throughout the day. I just looked at mine and I haven't been using it a whole lot today. It's at 81% and has been unplugged for 3 hours 40 mins and the running lists 24.2% and the screen on lists 8.0% so maybe about 15% difference is normal. A lot of that difference is probably the Cell Standby and Phone Idle processes that show up in the battery history I'm guessing.
     
  8. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    Also, that little green guy in the upper left corner of your screen might be the problem. How do you have him set up? If he is in "continuous kill" mode, that is likely your problem. Either uninstall or at least use him in a "manual" mode. The fact that he is up there means he is on the job and could be the culprit!
     
  9. aliveon2legs

    aliveon2legs Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    37
    It's not set up to continuously kill, and usually I have him kill himself when I do a manual kill. It hadn't been running during the time that the battery was draining until shortly before I took the screen captures.
     
  10. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    198
    if you dont use the gmail im client then go in and check under settings that it doesnt automatically log u in...and then sign out
     
  11. jhale83

    jhale83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well I'm getting pretty decent battery life I think (still at 80% nearly 4 hours after taking it off the charger). I don't have ATK installed. I do have SystemPanel Lite installed and I love it. You might check that out and get rid of ATK. SP doesn't do any auto killing for me. But I do have the option to kill something if I want. It also shows your CPU, Memory, and Network Usage. It's a pretty sweet app.
     
  12. jsweets13

    jsweets13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    i agree, i have been having horrible battery life. i charge the battery last night and un-plugged it around 3am, when i woke up i had 45% life left and i didnt use the phone... if someone knows or has really good setting, pm me to walk through this with me.. thanks
     
  13. SprintFun

    SprintFun VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    656
    Check the "Tips & Tricks" subforum - there are tons and tons and tons of battery related threads.
     
  14. hankbear

    hankbear Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    I agree. I liked it so much, I even bought the full version, so I could continue to use the history section. It's is really useful in seeing what might be using resources and battery.
     
  15. aliveon2legs

    aliveon2legs Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    37
    It's not set to sync or run background data, but I can't seem to find the settings for auto log in.
     

Share This Page

Loading...