I really would love to root my Hero (Sprint)


Last Updated:

  1. vals4con

    vals4con Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    I really would love to root my Hero (Sprint) but I'm not very tech savvy and I'm hesitant. What is the first step? Do I connect to my laptop and download a program? I have 2.31.651.7 and I read somewhere that I have to undo something first. I feel so inadequate. :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    I run overclocked at 768 on CM6 - using full version of SetCpu (free if you join xda)
    Runs 691 (stock) on AOSP.9.7 - and it is FAST!!!!

    Vals - You can root using an App from the Market - Search for Z4Root -
    one click root.

    Then do your research.... and find a rom!
    Lots of support here.
     
    vals4con likes this.
  3. vals4con

    vals4con Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just downloaded and hit Root. I'm nervous.:( How long should the Please wait blue screen be on for?
     
  4. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Don't be nervous.... Patience your phone will turnoff and Reboot itself -
    When it comes back on -
    Download ROM Manager from the Market - and from the app flash Clockwork recovery.
    Then make a Nandroid (backup)
     
  5. vals4con

    vals4con Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm pretty patient, I just wondered what the time frame is. The Please wait.... screen has been on since my last post and I just want to know what the usual time is until it shuts off and reboots.

    ETA: Still blue screen, can I use my phone while this is going on? Not necessarily for calls but other features.
     
  6. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    hmmm - thats Too long -
    Battery pull and Try again -
    Heard it can take a few tries to get through -
    SuperOneClick works too....but its a lot more involved.
     
    vals4con likes this.
  7. vals4con

    vals4con Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, I started the root again. Fingers crossed. This time the allow superuser screen came up and I chose allow.
     
  8. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    YEAH! -
    Thats good news.....should reboot soon!
     
  9. vals4con

    vals4con Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey! I got the superuser icon.
    What now? How do I delete the Sprint junk I don't use?
    Should I have my SD card installed now?
     
  10. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    CONGRATS - You Are Rooted! WOOT -
    SD Card Installed ? ? ?
    you mean apps to SD?

    FIRST THING YOU NEED TO DO - Download ROM manager from the market (free version is fine) Then Open it and flash Clockwork Mod.......

    Also - Check the all things ROOT Section - from here you have LOTS of help over there!
     
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    I personally would not delete anything, you may delete something that will cause an issue, but if you want to delete Nascar, Football etc... then download Titanium backup that will delete those apps, do not delete Gtalk, I would flash yourself an AOSP ROM without the Sprint Bloatware, just do a Nandroid back up of your rooted stock, incase you mess up


     
  12. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    HAHA - DON!
    Go easy on him - NFX or LiquidSense are both like Stock Without the Bloat ware.
     
  13. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Just trying to avoid him deleting something that will cause issues down the road, we see it all the time, and try to trouble shoot and find out something was deleted, lol

    CM6 here I come, LOL



     
  14. vals4con

    vals4con Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    I really appreciate your help. :)

    The ROM manager doesn't seem to want to start downloading.:confused: I've cancelled it and restarted it 3 times. Nevermind, it's going now.
     
  15. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Google and the market have been having issues as of late


     
  16. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    OK Don - leaving work - I will let you help out a fellow Floridian!

    Good luck VALS - AND ENJOY!
     
  17. vals4con

    vals4con Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is fun! BTW, I'm a woman, I just love that pic of Capt. Kirk with his communicator.

    So when I open the manager, do I choose 'Flash ClockworkMod Recovery' or 'Backup Current ROM'?
     
  18. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Yes, check the video in my signature, will show a couple of things about Rom manager, ClockWorkMod Manager Videos




     
  19. vals4con

    vals4con Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    When the current ROM is finished backing up, what do I do next? I am so clueless. My main reason for wanting to root is to get rid of football, Nascar, and other things I don't use. Where do I go to download other ROMs. I really don't want lots of junk on my phone. I also want to be able to choose my own splash screen and stuff like that.
     
  20. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Once you have a full back up, then you can save a copy on your PC also, then try a different Rom, you can try the one MCat and i are using as our main Rom, it is fast and snappy, responsive, no bloatware very Vanilla and you can set it the way you like it, check my rooted thread you will see some images I also posted, Rom is AOSP V 0,9.7 also you will need to flash the Gapps to get all the Google goodies like market and Gmail etc...

    Click here to view >>My Root process for those that want to learn the process !!




     
    jasonofx likes this.
  21. vals4con

    vals4con Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do I save it to my laptop and how do I get the Rom you mention onto my phone? Do I have to partition my sd card or can I just leave it?

    What do you mean by "flash the Gapps?" and how do I do it? :eek:

     
  22. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    You download the file from the link I gave you , then once done, then plug your phone into your PC and mount it, then drag a copy of your Nandroid backup from your SD card on your cell phone to your PC, it will be in the clockwork folder/backups, then once done take the Rom I told you to download AOSP V 0.9.7 from the link I gave you in the post above, and also download the Gapps file from there that is so you have all the Google apps, as the ROM does not have those apps, so you need to add then after flashing your ROM

    Here is the file, http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=782320

     
  23. vals4con

    vals4con Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, now I seem to be having an issue with my laptop not recognizing that my phone is plugged into it. Currently updating HTC Sync, hope that fixes the issue. I'm really not dense, really, I'm not. :D
     
  24. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    What operating system you on and make sure once you get it going you take it out of charge only and mount it to your laptop


     
  25. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    OK I have to head out,but MCat will be around a little later on, he is 6 hours behind us, so you will have him for a while, nice talking to you, you ever need help just holler
     

Share This Page

Loading...