i rooted, and have a custom rom... but how to i go back?


Last Updated:

  1. jimlad

    jimlad Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    hey all. i rooted my phone and currently have defrost, however after playing i think this rooting/custom stuff is overated and miss the defaults setup, but how do i revert?
     

    Advertisement
  2. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    What ROM was on the device out the box? Was it branded or generic?
     
  3. jimlad

    jimlad Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    before i rooted i had 2.2 unbranded
     
  4. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    jimlad likes this.
  5. jimlad

    jimlad Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    thanks mate, please dont laugh, but what is fastboot?
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    phone off, hold Back and press power.

    Its not overrated, its just not for everyone. Some people have little or no need to be rooted, others have a huge requirement.
     
  7. jimlad

    jimlad Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    thanks and yeah you are right, i found some cool stuff, but i guess i got used to sense and had no real need to root, although its good to learn. im flash as i type. can i ask why its needed to be in fast boot for it to work?
     
  8. pav1978

    pav1978 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    If using a Sense ROM:

    Download file
    Connect phone to PC and make sure HTC Sync is connected
    Run file on PC (as it's a EXE file)

    Not hard to work out really :D
     
    pav1978 likes this.
  10. pav1978

    pav1978 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!
    Bit new to all this rooting business!
    phone has been acting up since i rooted using the unrevoke method
     
  11. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    there are plenty of custom sense roms that have all things htc in them and more
     
  12. jimlad

    jimlad Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    so we do it in with the phone on now and not fast boot? as fastboot way gives me this msg

    [​IMG]
     
  13. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Pretty sure that means you're on a branded Desire so you'll either need a gold card to flash that ROM or you'll have to find the right ROM for your phone
     
  14. jimlad

    jimlad Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    do i need to have my gold card in the phone? as i have made one before
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Thats what I would take from that message too.
     
  16. jimlad

    jimlad Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    so i need the gold card i created at home (im at work) and then try again. can i just confirm do i run the updater in fastboot or when the phone is booted up in its current rom (defrost)
     
  17. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    In FASTBOOT, you need HTC Sync to do it in Windows and DeFroST doesn't have Sense
     
    jimlad likes this.
  18. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    you need your goldcard inserted yes and you should turn your day to day sdcard into a goldcard to save any misery down the line
     
  19. jimlad

    jimlad Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    6
    ok got the gold card in and trying again now
     
  20. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    That's what I did, my 8GB stick in the phone is also the goldcard, it was a pain in the butt to get working at first as patching it busted the fat32 partition (it's partitioned ext3/fat32 for A2SD+) but patching then reformatting the fat32 partition fixed it, of course I backed up all the sdcard stuff first. lol
     
  21. pav1978

    pav1978 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since unrooting my phone has been lagging alot and running very slow :(
    Is there anything I can do to improve performance (it used to be super quick prior to rooting)
     
  22. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    its not rooting thats making it slow.
    all root does is give you SU and puts a custom recovery on.
     
  23. pav1978

    pav1978 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    what could it be? i installed stock rom 2.2 and my previous apps
     
  24. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    its probably an app thats causing it if it is infact slower, it could just be your perception.
    rooting it categorically cannot cause slower performance
     
  25. pav1978

    pav1978 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    trust me its slower.. it hangs alot when opening txt messages, pictures and apps (when i say hangs its well over 10secs) i have to end up pressing home button and sometimes it doesnt even respond to that..
     

Share This Page

Loading...