I rooted but how do I restart the Droid .....


Last Updated:

  1. DLM

    DLM Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am trying to flash a ROM, I got it rooted and I got a ROM on the SDcard but how do I restart the phone? Pressing X is not the way.
     

    Advertisement
  2. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    Are you asking how to get into recovery? Did you already flash an alternate recovery?(clockwork or sprecovery)

    If so just power down and press/hold X on the physical keyboard while pressing the power button. You can let go of the power button but not the X until you reach the recovery screen
     
    DLM likes this.
  3. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
    HOLD the X button while the phone is starting up to get into recovery.

    Reboot from inside recovery, arrow to reboot (using volume keys) and select reboot (using the camera button).
     
    DLM likes this.
  4. DLM

    DLM Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    yea exactly, I get to a screen with a triangle and a yellow exclamation point in it. Do I just keep holding? I got clockwork but I don't know what to do with it, I backed up with a program called Titanium Backup.

    so, If I get to this screen, I choose the .zip location on my sd and it will overwrite that ROM?
     
  5. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
    from the description of that screen, it sounds like you've lost your recovery that you loaded, you'll need to reload clockwork.
     
  6. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
    but then yes, you choose the install zip, choose the zip and it will overwrite it. Course you probably want to wipe data and cache before you install the new ROM.
     
  7. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    you can reload a recovery with rom manager app.
     
  8. DLM

    DLM Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    i will lose everything? like program data?
     
  9. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
    on the phone, yes. (well when you wipe data and cache, and you need to do that before installing a new ROM) SD Card will be fine.
    Titanium Backup is a good option to make certain you get all your apps and data back.
    Some say it can backup SMS/MMS but I don't know how they are doing that (maybe you need the pay version for that?)
     
    DLM likes this.
  10. DLM

    DLM Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    where do I find clockwork? Is it in the market?
     
  11. DLM

    DLM Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
  12. DLM

    DLM Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok I think I got it all going, now how do I know I have a custom ROM running?
     
  13. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    go to about phone in settings and look for the build category although it should be pretty clear if you do.
     
  14. DLM

    DLM Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    yea I am pretty sure I can tell now, plus 'rooted only' apps work. My build is FRG22D
     

Share This Page

Loading...