I rooted.. now what?


Last Updated:

  1. ashley82303

    ashley82303 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay, I finally sucked it up and rooted my phone!

    Now what? I've installed the wireless tethering and gave that a try.. anybody have any suggestions? I'm not sure about custom ROM yet, but i'll get there.. baby steps.. lol
     

    Advertisement
  2. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    flash darch's rom 2.7..heard it's pretty good in all aspects..

    fresh's roms are pretty stable and fast
     
  3. jxr94

    jxr94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    12
    Lol i rooted yesturday and flashed fresh yesturday. I can't stop, i like the control that comes with root. Um i suggest flashing fresh 2.3.3 just to try the whole process because its not as complicated as i thought! Just follow the steps and always make a nandroid backup!
     
    ashley82303 likes this.
  4. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    don't forget to wipe that azz!! :D
     
  5. ashley82303

    ashley82303 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    haha, thanks.. let me ask a total noob question... how do i install a custom rom? I've been searching the forum, and I see so many options I"m afraid I'm gonna pick the wrong one!!
     
  6. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    just save the custom rom to the root of your sd card then reboot into recovery then flash it!

    it's as simple as that!

    but don't forget to wipe that azz!! lol *always wipe before flashing different roms; create nandroid backups in case something goes wrong like jxr94 said*
     
    ashley82303 likes this.
  7. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    as long as it's made for the Sprint CDMA Hero then you'll be fine.. if ya ever flash one made for the GSM HTC Hero (European version) then you'll have a brick..
     
    ashley82303 likes this.
  8. ashley82303

    ashley82303 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    lol, thanks! I think I'm gonna do it tomorrow! I can't wait.. I'm just afraid I'll screw something up.. haha.. I'm pretty computer savvy but still....
     
  9. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    as mystic said..u can't really mess up anything if you aren't flashing something from the gsm hero roms..

    as said..always backup with nandroid!!
     
  10. ashley82303

    ashley82303 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am downloading the fresh hero now.. Once I clear my head of the fog lol I'll figure out how to save it to my SD card.. then I'm a go.. right now my head is jumbled with the possibilities!!

    Thanks everyone, I appreciate the help!
     
  11. rockstar420

    rockstar420 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok so i just decided to root my phone usin regaws method. everything went successful. so now what? do i make a root folder? and put the rom in there? my SD card still has everything on it im kinda confuzzled. any help?
     
  12. ashley82303

    ashley82303 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    okay I updated to the new fresh rom!! I love it! Thanks again for the help!

    Rockstar: Once you d/l the rom you want you just mount your phone to your computer, and copy the zip file on to the sd card.. don't put it in a folder just put it on the card!

    I followed these steps and it worked great: How To: Load a Custom ROM on Your HTC Hero | TheUnlockr
     
    rockstar420 likes this.
  13. rockstar420

    rockstar420 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok, so another quick question. now that i rooted my phone, im tryin to do the nandroid backup thing. and it keeps saying: Error : Run 'nandroid-mobile.sh' via adb!

    im pretty sure i missed a command or something. can someone help again? i obviously know i gotta do this in the command prompt but i dunno what to put in?!
     
  14. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    i keep getting this too..not sure why :(
     
  15. rockstar420

    rockstar420 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    after poking around some other threads i found this/

    anyways i followed those directions. installed clockwork rom manager from the market. it gives you a different recovery. anyways, it deleted my rom i was about to install so i flashed back to the stock recovery, and the nandroid backup works just fine now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...