I think i did something terribly wrong...


Last Updated:

  1. McFluffnStuff

    McFluffnStuff Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    I was following the "From Stock 2.0.1 to Bugless Beast ROM (for beginners)" Guide and i guess somewhere along the process i did something terribly wrong.

    My droid is now stuck at the Motorola logo from the boot screen. It doesnt loop it just stays there. I've tried going to the recovery screen and using my old backup but it doesnt seem to be working.

    Anyone have any idea what i did wrong, or how i can fix it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Do you have sprecovery loaded? When you boot to recovery (power + x key) do you see a Droid in the middle of the screen below the recovery menu, or an exclamation mark inside a triangle?
     
  3. McFluffnStuff

    McFluffnStuff Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    Nope, it goes straight to the sprecovery. No exclamation mark in a triangle
     
  4. magdelaine

    magdelaine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    323
    This just happened to me, too. It turned out the battery was very low AND I had accidentally chosen to install the update.zip from 2.1 instead of 2.01 like I had intended.

    I don't know exactly what went wrong, but I left the thing on the charger for a while, then started it with the "x" key so that it would go back into the utility that allowed me to restore the backup I had just made of my previously freshly rooted install.

    Whew! That worked. I decided I would go with the "clean" start; I've installed the 2.01 ROM and just for fun I'm going to try the 2.1 ROM. It's fairly easy once you know the steps...so I can't resist. ;)

    Did you try the ROM or update.zip method?
     
  5. McFluffnStuff

    McFluffnStuff Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    I went with the ROM.

    I'm glad to hear it might just be the low battery. When i was doing this, the phone also had a low battery. It's charging right now.
     
  6. magdelaine

    magdelaine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    323
    Well, let us know what happens. I figured if worse came to worse I would pop out the micro sd card and manually replace the possibly corrupted backup with the version I copied to my computer and restore from there.

    PS: Lessons learned: definitely BACKUP! Do not skip that step. And watch to make sure your battery level doesn't get too low. (Elementary, I know.)
     
  7. McFluffnStuff

    McFluffnStuff Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    One other question:

    I left the phone charging with it still on the Recovery Screen, since thats the only thing i can access right now. Will it still charge? It may sound silly, but i dont see the light i normally see when it charges...
     
  8. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    221
    Does the charging light come on? (Located right next to where you plug in the cable to the phone). I would think if that light comes on, you should be charging...
     
  9. magdelaine

    magdelaine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    323
    Yes, if the charging light is on it is charging. I had my phone off while it was plugged in, but the light was on and it charged just fine. FWIW, I removed my battery before I attempted to power back on and install the backup. That can sometimes help reset things.
     
  10. McFluffnStuff

    McFluffnStuff Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    The charging light isnt on though. I removed the battery while it was plugged in and saw that it still worked, meaning it is using the charger as a power source, so it is working. Maybe the light just doesn't turn on in recovery mode?
     
  11. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    How are you charging? When the battery gets extremely low charge from a wall outlet instead of USB. Much more effective. One way I have gotten out of a "sbrecovery loop" (after a full charge) is to turn the phone off, do a battery pull (always give it a couple of minutes when doing a pull), remove the SD card, and boot (you will get an error). I then shut down the phone, reinstalled the card, and for some reason (maybe just my luck) it rebooted fine.
     
  12. McFluffnStuff

    McFluffnStuff Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    I left my phone charging all night and apparently it didnt work :/

    I'm currently trying to just reset the phone by using RSDLite and the .sbf file but when i connected my phone it said the battery was too Low.
     
  13. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Are you charging from the wall outlet? Once again, don't use USB from your computer to charge when the battery is that low.
     
  14. McFluffnStuff

    McFluffnStuff Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah, it was a wall outlet :/
     
  15. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Was the phone turned on during the charge (I believe the Droid needs to be in an "On" state to successfully charge.
     
  16. McFluffnStuff

    McFluffnStuff Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes, but it was stuck on the Motorola Logo screen. I dont know if it actually charged or not since, as I mentioned before, the charging light never turned on. The only indication I had that it was working was that I removed the battery and the phone was still able to navigate to the recovery screen.
     
  17. magdelaine

    magdelaine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    323
    Mine charged just fine completely off so I don't think that is the issue, but I don't know for sure. I would pull the battery, wait a minute or two, put it back in and leave it off while connected to the charger and see if that works any better.
     
  18. McFluffnStuff

    McFluffnStuff Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah that worked. :D Battery is high enough to use RSDLite and the .sbf file but its not working.

    I hit start and a message showed up saying "Failed flashing process. Failed flashing process. Unable to retrieve initialization values from INI file. (0x7029); phone connected"

    It also gives me a "Platform is not defined for CDMA_TYPE-MSM6800_CHIPSET" in the status section when i first plug it in...


    I think im the unluckiest droid user ever >_>
     
  19. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    18
    Did you just get the phone?.... I see you joined within the last few days.
     
  20. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    You can't charge when in Recovery mode, it just doesn't work.
     
  21. Barkleyfan

    Barkleyfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    31

    U ever get up and running? I was thinking grab another nandroid image , or maybe Virgin OEM. Make sure the first thing u do is wipe, then try a recovery.
     
  22. McFluffnStuff

    McFluffnStuff Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ah yes, i forgot to update this topic. All is well now :)
    The problem was that i was using RSDLite 4.5.3. Another guide had suggested 4.6 which ended up working.
     
  23. Barkleyfan

    Barkleyfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    31
    Good deal bro
     
  24. MrCollins

    MrCollins New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had to go with RSDLite 4.6 as well, but still didn't work on my Win7 64. Worked fine on a win7 32 bit. Got rid of the Platform not defined OMAP error and the flash failed error. Dunno, just different combinations of hardware and software seemed to do the trick. Hope this helps someone not spend 5 hours searching for answers like me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...